Sewing · Sewing for Miss M

KCWC – Update

The KCWC week is almost over and to be honest I’m not quite sure if I can call it a success.

I’ve been sewing an average of 1 1/2 hours per day (which is quite good for me, considering I’m still working full-time, following a busy schedule this week and spending some quality (lol) time with my family), yet there are a few things I have also learn:

1. KCWC sewing and keeping a photo record are not compatible: I would never assumed this could be so challenging. Yet, uncooperative models, lack of daylight for photos when the sewing day is over, sleep deprived mum/sewer after a sewing marathon, this week I’ve had it all;

2.  KCWC sewing, following the Flickr group postings (so many great clothes, so little time to comment) and keeping a blog are also not compatible tasks (lol). I don’t know how many of you do it. Obviously, I have an outstanding issue with time management. That’s one main area where I do need to make great improvements (fast!).

3.  My initial list was too ambitious (I knew this already btw). So far, this is what I’ve achieved:

  • 1 O+S Sailboat skirt (in stripped denim): This was not in the initial plan, but was included because it was needed. My girl keeps growing so much that she didn’t have any skirts to wear (with proper length, of course). Also, I’ve sewed this pattern before and knew this was a quick and easy project, just what I needed to keep me motivated🙂

Of course, I tried to get some pictures:

               

(see what I meant: uncooperative model at the end of the day. The good thing is that she liked the skirt, although you probably could never tell from the pictures)

  • 2 completed dresses (including buttons that were missing early this week. Managed to visit the shop today before heading to an appointment. Sew the buttons while the kids took a bath, lol)
  • 1 dress in need of hemming, buttonholes and buttons. Will be finished tomorrow morning (15 minutes, right?)

Still missing: 2 skirts, 2 tunics and 2 rompers. Probably will only managed to squeeze in 1 skirt and 1 tunic before the end of the challenge.

Or maybe I’ll just use the time I still have to get some pictures before KCWC is over.

Overall, this was also a good week. We managed to visit Baby A and the kids were totally in love (he’s such a tiny sweet baby!).

Bliss!

xo

Ana Sofia

12 thoughts on “KCWC – Update

  1. That skirt is so cute! I think I’ve spent more time this week gawking at what everyone else is sewing than actually sewing myself. 🙂 And, my she is growing tall!

    1. Thank you MC!
      Finally all sewing is done and will be posting some pictures soon.
      And hopefully during the next couple of days, I’ll be able to enjoy everyone else’s photos!
      (she’s growing a bit “too fast” lately. I need to sew faster or add deeper hems to the skirts, lol)

  2. I think that you have achieved a fantastic amount, Ana Sofia! I love the Sailboat skirt🙂

    It took me days to post a pic on Flickr, and still haven’t got any modelled pics. You are right, balancing sewing and Flickr/blogging are incompatible.

    1. Thank you, Justine!
      Love your boy’s outfits, so much!
      The sewing was over yesterday (today was totally devoted to my family) and I’ll be posting some pictures soon.
      Balance is the key, right🙂

  3. I completely agree, the picture taking and bloggin have to be the most difficult part of the week! I work two twelve hour days a week, and so I try and start sewing two days early to account for the days I will be gone, but it’s still super hard!
    The skirt is adorable though, good luck getting those finishing touches done!

    1. Thank you Lila! (all done, now)
      I will definitely be following your suggestions for the next challenge.
      It was really fun (and I did manage to accomplished quite a few clothes down of my sewing list) but after a long work day, sometimes I lacked motivation.

    1. Thank you Nicole!
      That’s my youngest nephew (from my baby sister). He’s the tiniest baby I’ve ever seen, but totally adorable! (I’m biased of course, I’ll be his godmother).
      I would love to see you join in! I would love to see your wonderful creations in the KCWC Flickr group as well (and beautiful models)

    1. Thank you Janice!
      Sometimes I think the same and often others (husband, included) questioned how I find the time. I just suppose that we always find the time for thing we love (lol).
      Even if it means giving up other things (for me, is watching TV) and sewing late (very very late).
      xo, Ana Sofia

  4. most of the time i end up getting hurried photos of my girl before she leaves for school. i’m continually amazed at those bloggers who manage to do it all–sew beautiful clothes and have perfectly lit shots of their little models. on the other hand, your model is so cute that any picture of her is lovely to look at:).

    1. Thank you Trinh!
      You’re so sweet!
      We did manage to get some pictures this afternoon. Yet, I have to admit my (cute) model was still in uncooperative mood.
      I don’t blame her, of course. Playing is far more fun and important-
      xo, Ana Sofia

Comments are closed.