Sewing for Miss M

Badminton Top

To be honest, this post should have been made several days ago.

Lately, I find myself accepting too many commitments (mostly work related) and missing the time to do other things I love (sewing and blog browsing, included, of course).

I was not sure about the Badminton top (Oliver+S) when it was released – I have a favorite pattern for tops (Apolline from Citronille) and living close to the ocean often means that some sort of “neck protection” is needed – even during summertime. So buying another sleeveless top pattern was not high on my “wishing list”.

But as I’ve mentioned before I consider Oliver+S patterns are my “private sewing lessons” and I was eager to learn new techniques.

So, needless to say, I bought the pattern (taking advantage of a very convenient pattern sale). It also includes a skort pattern (a skirt with shorts hiding underneath) which I am now eager to try as well – perfect for girls that love to jump, twirl, run and climb on monkey bars (yeap, perfect for my girl).

After being inspired by some great “Badminton” tops and nightgowns! (seriously, this is a great pattern if your girl loves to dress like a princess for bedtime) featured by some sewing friends I was decided to give it a try. Inspiration herehere, here, here and here (so hard to pick a favorite).

I’ve read some comments on how  this pattern was a bit tricky  to sew (Liesl also makes some remarks in the pattern instructions) so I approached it with caution and decided to make a first trial with fabric I already had in my stash (and scrap bin) – navy seersucker, a scrap of Liberty (also used on a previous Apolline top. Can you spot the differences?) and navy ribbon (a bit wider than requested by the pattern, but I kind of like it).

Here’s my version:

I also find the back view quite adorable:

I love the fabric combination and was positively surprised by the overall process (went smoother than expected) and result: the top was a dream to sew and I finished it in a “nap time” (no, neither of my kids still take a nap but a mum can dream, right?).

As usual with Oliver + S patterns the final top looks quite professional.

I was very pleased to take the time to sew this top carefully. Of course, using the edgestitch foot of my sewing machine also made sewing a lot easier.

I also used french seams and therefore the inside is almost as beautiful as the outside (minus the bow), which always makes me smile and proud of the final garment:

Summer around here has been quite usual (some cloudy days and even some showers), but the last few weeks have been really hot again (heat wage, anyone?), so this top has been worn quite a lot.

She looks adorable in it (I’m biased, of course) and since it’s a size 5, I’m guessing it will still get some wear next year.

Now I can’t wait to try the skort (and a “princess nightgown” version).

x, Ana Sofia

8 thoughts on “Badminton Top

  1. I wasn´t very keen on this pattern when it was released because I´m not fond of wide necks. I was secretly hoping you bought it and made your version, as I was sure I would love it from that moment on. I was so right!!!
    Fabrics combos are your speciality and this is so sweet I want it right now.
    Thanks for sharing
    María

    1. I know what you mean (I had the same issue with the Family Reunion dress)! I decided to purchase just because I wanted to try a new technique (I reckon this is a perfect reason for buying an Oliver+S pattern). Nevertheless, she loves the top (perfect for our hot summer days) and it’s been getting a lot of wear during the last couple of weeks. And as I bought the larger size range, this pattern will be used for quite a few seasons🙂

  2. This is so pretty – I also took my time buying the new patterns, but am looking forward to making these for both the girls for summer

    1. Thank you, Justine!
      I do have quite a few patterns that I would love to try before the summer is over (and the fall patterns are released) – lucky for me, it will be hot enough until the end of october (at least). I find it so hard to sew during the kid’s summer holidays🙂

  3. When I initially commented I cljcked the “Notify me when new comments are added” checkbox and now each time a comment is
    added I get three emails with the same comment. Is there any way you cann
    remove people from that service? Thanks a lot!

Comments are closed.