Sewing for Miss M

Blue Toile for a Christening

A couple of weeks ago, we received an invitation for a christening.

Of course, a new dress was requested for Miss M.

I didn’t have enough time to shop for fabric (or try a new pattern) so I decided to pick a pattern that I had used before for a previous christening (Precious dress a pdf pattern from the Scientific seamstress) – simple and very easy to put together.

This version was completed in 2 late-night sewing sessions – including the hand stitched collar and the cute rick-rack details in the sleeves (my favorite):

To be honest, I wasn’t sure about my fabric choice (too babyish) but Miss M loved it and couldn’t be happier.

I do think it was okay for a christening, but I’m sure she won’t be using it that much. She is growing too fast, and I’m starting to favor other prints.

Well, that’s life, isn’t it? Sometimes, you just need to know when to move on …

xo

Ana Sofia

14 thoughts on “Blue Toile for a Christening

    1. Thank you so much Justine!
      To be honest I didn’t notice the “fast growing” with the boys. But with the girl everything goes a little bit too fast for my taste (maybe it’s a “third child syndrome” (you have seen it all before) or a sign that I need a new baby🙂.

    1. Thank you, Nicole!
      It does look sweet on her, but somehow she looks (to me) a bit too “older” for this print (and maybe this dress pattern).
      That’s life, right?

  1. what a lovely dress Ana Sofia, you really make beautiful stuff very creative and most important is that you have a good eye for picking a fabric. Love it!!! I will keep looking at your blog and get some ideas for my projects!!!

    1. Thank you so much!
      That’s such a sweet comment🙂
      To be honest, I believe I’m rather conservative in my fabric choices – I’m trying to get out of my confort zone, yet it’s really not that easy. I do love to see what other persons sew with different fabric choices – I do love fabrics and there are really some very amazing and tallented designers out there.

    1. Thank you! This fabric is from fabric finders. I got it online from the Farmhousefabrics.com. I don’t see it there anymore, but you could send them a message to check if it’s still available. They are really helpfull (I got a lot of my fabrics from there as I can’t get these sort of fabrics from my local shop)🙂

Comments are closed.