Sewing for Miss M

Liberty Birthday Party

Well, technically it was no one’s birthday, but sometimes you just need an excuse to add a little sewing to your life, right?

And to be honest, isn’t it wonderful to end the year (and celebrate the New Year) with a lovely new dress?

I though so, as well🙂

The Oliver+S Birthday Party Dress is a favorite mine (aren’t they all?) since it was first released.

While, this is not the easiest Oliver+S pattern (rated as three scissors out of four) I think it’s totally worth the effort|time involved. The instructions are very accurate  and detailed (as expected from Oliver+S) and as always, I was very pleased with the final result.

I love both versions of the Birthday dress, but I’ve been tempted to try something a bit different: a Liberty front panel (part of my attempts to incorporate smaller cuts of Liberty into my sewing).

A bit of “sewing outside the box” for me🙂

8337540479_dc7b7f5260_b

8338600818_1ae0c7b9d8_b

(trust me, the front tab is “straight”. Somehow it just looks “wonky” in the pictures)

8337542685_bc8e743be4_b

The main fabric is a beautiful navy wool/cashmere blend from a local shop and the Liberty print is called D’Anjo (beautiful print based on a 1930s design and a new favorite around here).

I completed this dress in 2 short sewing sessions (about 3 hours/each), just in time for the New Year (insert happy mummy smile, here)

8337543519_96356dd811_b

Miss M loved the dress and was even more pleased with all the “bribery” involved in the photo session: mummy’s new pearl bracelet, a (play) princess tiara (not shown) and a sparkling magic wand.

8337554797_6cf6b63bdf_b

8338612554_fb10574bd7_b

So, are you in for a little celebration?

Happy sewing,

Ana Sofia

3 thoughts on “Liberty Birthday Party

  1. oh, this is so very beautiful! What a lovely pairing of Liberty with wool/cashmere. Surely will become an heirloom dress!

  2. Gorgeous! The birthday party dress was one of the first O+S patterns I sewed and it makes such a beautiful, classy dress – ESPECIALLY when you put some Liberty in there like you did! 🙂

  3. I love this dress, the combination between the navy wool/cashmere and the liberty is lovely. Your little girl is very beautiful and she knows how to pose😉.
    I bought the birthday party dress pattern last summer and I intend to make a couple for my daugther and for sure I’ll combine with liberty like yours after seeing how it turned out.

Comments are closed.