Sewing · Sewing for Miss M

KCW Spring 2013 – Days 3, 6 and 7

After successfully completed two projects during the first days of the KCW Spring 2013, I knew I could try to be a bit more adventurous (yeah).

So, at the end of day 2, I took some time to cut 5 pieces that I knew would be a lovely addition to my little girl’s wardrobe – I didn’t have a structured plan, I just picked some prints from a few favorite lines/designers and a selection of tested (and much-loved) patterns.

My main goal was to get pieces that could be coordinated and made a good transition into warmer sunny days…

For KCW 2013 day 3, I sew the Class Picnic Blouse (Oliver+S) using a favorite print (The simple life from Tasha Noel, Riley Blake). I intended to stop sewing before attaching the sleeves (and get some sleep, lol), but I was so involved, that I kind of forgot about the time….

Picnic Blouse#1

Overall, this blouse took me about 2 hours of late night sewing and to be honest, I love the result – you can never go wrong with red and aqua (trust me. It’s so lovely!).

Picnic Blouse#2

Following my previous attempts with this blouse, I added a lace trim at the front ( it looks too cute and, mainly, because otherwise it would be too difficult for my girl to tell the front from the back when she gets dressed in the mornings).

Picnic Blouse#3

On day 6 of the KCW Spring 2013, I managed to finished a 2+2 Blouse (also from Oliver+S and also using a print from the Tasha Noel, The simple life collection).

(I haven’t forget about days 4 and 5. I’ll show you these in the next post).

2_2 Blouse#5

I’ve done this blouse several times before, so I knew it would take some time: the front tab is adorable but I always need a few attempts to get it right.

2_2 Blouse#6

(love the drawings peeking at the inside placket).

2_2 Blouse#4

2_2 Blouse#1

Overall, this blouse was the most time-consuming project of the KCW 2013 week (aprox. 4 hours), but I just couldn’t help it – As soon as I saw this print I knew it was meant for this pattern – it’s perfect for displaying all the sweet drawings and the front placket is just too adorable!

2_2 Blouse#7

Finally, for the last day of the KCW Spring 2013 I made the Puppet Show Shorts (Oliver+S) in a favorite khaki twill, because we all know that, besides dresses, little girls wardrobes need to be filled with lots of shorts (great for jumping and running around).

The lace trim at the pockets was not really necessary, but it does look cute, right? (and this tiny bit was feeling a bit lost in my sewing box).

Puppet Shorts

This pattern is my hands-down favorite short pattern, but unfortunately my little girl has now grown-out of it (I’ve found a couple of great options already, but my heart still beats for the Puppet Show cute pockets). So, and for my last attempt with this pattern, I sized it up a bit and kept my fingers crossed in hope that they would fit her throughout one last summer season.

2_2 Blouse#3

(I love to coordinate this outfit with the red shoes and big red bow. She loves the red shoes but she’s not that enthusiastic about the bow….)

My favorite part of sewing these 3 pieces was the fact that they all coordinate so well. And my girl loves them. All of them (ok, her favorite is the 2+2 Blouse, but you had already guessed that, right?).

2_2 Blouse#2

It’s not over yet, as I still have 2 more KCW Spring 2013 projects to show you.

I’ll be back before the end of the week (hopefully) for the final display.

Thank you for reading🙂

xx Ana Sofia

17 thoughts on “KCW Spring 2013 – Days 3, 6 and 7

    1. Thank you! The lace trim was an unexpected addition – It wasn’t planned, but lately I have this sudden urge to add lace trims everywhere, lol

  1. Beautiful! I am so impressed with your lovely blouses. I’ve never made a blouse, but I just bought the O + S Music Class pattern so I am going to give it a try.

    1. Thank you! The Music class is such a timeless blouse – I love the tiny pintucks. I’ll sure be checking your blog for inspiration!

    1. Thank you Sarah!
      I have a tendency to gravitate towards the same color schemes over and over again – except from the lace trim, even these shorts are a perfect copy of the ones I made her last week. I’m pretty hopeless when it comes to pick new colors (the good thing is that making coordinating pieces becomes pretty effortless, lol).

    1. Thank you so much Meghan! (blushing)
      The lace trim does look nice (and it’s my girl’s favorite detail as well. Lace trims and buttons are her favorite notions).
      (Ps. I just found your blog. I’ll be adding it to my reading list)

  2. So so lovely and beautiful. I have to buy some of the fabric. I have some fabric cut out to make the 2 + 2 blouse. If it took you 4 hours it will probably take me 8. I am thankful for the warning.

    1. Thank you!
      Trust me, sewing takes quite a lot of time for me: I always check everything twice, unpick if it’s not totally perfect (to my eyes, of course) and use french seams whenever it’s possible. Plus, I get distracted quite often (husband, kids, you name it). I pretty sure it won’t take you that long…

  3. Beautiful! I always enjoy seeing your finished garments. I feel the same about the puppet shorts. My youngest is a tall 4 year old so one last summer for us too. I can’t wait to see more.

    1. Thank you Suzanne!
      This will be their final season – unless, I manage to grad them up a bit more. Currently they are still a bit on the short side, lol

    1. Thank you!
      She loved everything (and was so happy to find a new piece ready every morning, lol. She is not aware of KCW so it was fun to see the look on her face …)

Comments are closed.