Sewing for Miss M

Pink polka dots

I was sorting all the still-to-be posted pictures, and I reckoned this would be the perfect excuse for posting an unexpected sewing project that has been in the (blog) pipeline for too long (you know, the pictures- taken, post-completed and worn-for-over-two-months sort of project).

Please excuse the bad lightning in the pictures. These were taken a couple of months ago when rain and bad lighting were still here.

The Odette blouse is one of the newest Citronille patterns. Soon after it was released I started seeing some lovely versions of this blouse, mostly in French blogs and most in Liberty.

While I was tempted to sew a Liberty version, I decided to tested it first with a cute cotton poplin just in case further modifications were needed (Citronille sizing can be tricky sometimes). However, I did add a bit of Liberty to the blouse (neck binding) – just for fun!

Odette Blouse and Bedtime stories pants#4

(yes, I also sew a pair of cute Oliver+S bow hair ties to match. Easiest project)

Although the blouse got immediate approval from my girl, somehow it didn’t suit its initial purpose (i.e. daily wear). The fabric and cute print made her much more suited to … nightwear.

Odette Blouse and Bedtime stories pants#3

The solution: Oliver+S’s pajama pants (with slight modifications) and soon, Miss M got a new set of pajamas. Cute, right?

Odette Blouse and Bedtime stories pants#1

This is a gorgeous blouse that truly appears to my inner French seamstress (I know I have one, lol):  featuring an adorable Peter Pan collar, front and back gathers and practical elasticized sleeves.

I’m sure, there will be a Liberty version, soon…

Technical info:

Blouse: Odette from Citronille (6T)

Pants: Bedtime story pajamas from Oliver+S, slightly modified to include an elasticized hem (5T)

Fabrics: Cotton pique white pink polka dots print (local shop) and Elise Liberty print for the neck binding.

6 thoughts on “Pink polka dots

    1. Thank you Martha!
      It’s already cut, but somehow it’s summer now (which is a good thing, of course) and it’s been a bit postponed (it will be a long-sleeve Liberty version).

    1. Thank you, Cindy!
      It is very girly – perfect for a little girl (it’s probably a bit old-fashioned, but I love it – and so does she).

Comments are closed.