Sewing for Miss M

Ottobre Kokeshi

My first Ottobre pattern was the  Babushka pinafore dress pattern (issue 01/2009).

This pattern is for a sweet baby pinafore (with a Babushka doll applique at the front) and was included in the first Ottobre issue I bought (seems like it was only yesterday, lol).

The instructions were quite clear (although, as usual, I didn’t follow them closely) and it was probably one of my first projects for my baby girl (I don’t even think I have a picture of it to prove it …).

For that (tiny) pinafore dress, I use a print from the Katie Jump Rope collection (this one) and the dress got lots of compliments (I was just starting to sew, so it felt really good).

Nevertheless, I didn’t managed to sew many of these dresses for my girl (the Apolline pattern from Citronille has been a good replacement) and she was soon out of the size range.

Yet, when Ottobre released a larger pinnie version – The Kokeshi pinafore dress – I decided to give it another try (again, I skipped the Babushka applique, just because I’m quite okay with just the plain version and my print was already a bit “busy”).

Ottobre Kokeshi#1

The back is also quite simple (and yet so cute):

Ottobre Kokeshi#3

I selected a bold print (not my usual style, as you may already know) and couldn’t be more pleased with the final result.

Ottobre Kokeshi#2

Can’t really get enough of these great hues. Beautiful, right?

Ottobre Kokeshi#4

Of course, the dress it’s still a bit large on my girl (but on the bonus side, there’s room to grow, which I always love) but it’s already a favorite:

Ottobre Kokeshi#5

Overall, the Kokeshi Pinafore Dress is quite a basic pattern but looks really sweet paired with a blouse underneath (and even a little cardi, if it gets cooler):

Ottobre Kokeshi#6

Don’t you just love a good basic (dress) pattern?

xx, Ana Sofia

9 thoughts on “Ottobre Kokeshi

    1. Obrigada, Marta! Não costumo usar cores tão “fortes” mas adorei o resultado; talvez porque o modelo é muito simples e o conjunto acabou por resultar bastante bem.

  1. Great dress – and lovely fabric. I have about 7 ottobre magazines. I haven’t bought any in about two years but they are great to have and go back to again and again.

    1. Thank you Suzanne! True to be told, I don’t really sew much from them as well – yet, I should as they really have great basic pieces and I could use a bit more practice :-) This dress was feature in 2009 (issue 1/2009) and it’s still one of my favorites.

I love to hear from you :-)

