Sewing · Sewing for Miss M

KCW Summer – Day 1

The Kids Clothes Week Summer 2013 starts today and obviously I didn’t want to miss the fun …

KCW Summer 2013

This time around, I planned ahead (kind of … anyway, as some pictures still need to be taken and there’s a couple of projects in the pipeline. However, most of the sewing is already done) and I hope to be showing a new piece (almost) everyday🙂

Of course, I won’t be adding lots of info, but in case I miss something I’ll be adding further details later.

So, shall we start?

My first KCW Summer project is actually a combo: I matched the Appoline top (from Citronille) with another summer favorite, the Léon shorts from P&M.

KCW Summer#1

I believe Appoline is my most used Citronille pattern to date. I always manage to put together a couple of these for summer and I’m just considering making a few in corduroy for layering when the weather gets a bit cooler. For this version, I used a pink oxford and added a few inches to the length (hoping that she could wear it until the summer ends. Hopefully by late October).

Based on some comments and mails I get, I know it is not easy to get French patterns outside Europe (French instructions may also be an issue for some) I did a bit of searching and found that McCalls 6022 (view C) is a close match. You may wish to give it a try (please be advised that I have not tested the McCalls pattern. My judgement is based on the pattern cover and drawings only).

DSC_0197

You may have noticed by now (if you missed my previous version, you may check it here), that the Léon shorts are a current favorite (as seen here) with my girls – comfy and cute, always works for her. They have a nice length and I just love the bubble effect on her “baby legs”. Hopefully, she will also be able to wear these until the end of summer (fingers crossed).

For this version, I picked 1/2 meter of a lovely Tilda print from my local fabric shop and managed to sew both the shorts and the (mandatory) bow hair tie (following this free Oliver + S tutorial).

We also both love the front pockets: perfect for carry almost everything a little girl needs (ok, maybe not everything  but she does carry a lot in those). I used the same pink oxford for contrast and I think it looks so cute.

DSC_0201

So there you have it: KCW Summer day 1 fully accomplished.

I hope to come back tomorrow with another project🙂

Happy sewing,

Ana Sofia

12 thoughts on “KCW Summer – Day 1

  1. Gorgeous little outfit! I love practical play clothes that are pretty too. I always look forward to your blogs as everything you sew is exactly my taste too. Love all the fabrics you choose.

  2. Adorei a combinação das cores! E modelo de top é realmente um clássico. Um dia tenho que experimentar…
    Consegues arranjar tecidos Tilda a preços razoáveis por cá? Hoje vi uns lindos n’ Os Bispos na Parede mas custavam quase 20 euros o metro! Mal posso esperar para ver os próximos posts da semana!

    1. Obrigada Marta! O top é super simples, mas se calhar é por isso mesmo que fica sempre tão bem🙂
      Normalmente compro os tecidos Tilda em Campo de Ourique (e não são nada em conta) mas os padrões são deliciosos e o algodão é muito macio. Os da nova colecção são um pouco mais baratos (mas a largura é menor, por isso acho que feitas as contas ainda compensa menos). Para estes calções, laço de cabelo (e outra “surpresa” que espero mostrar muito em breve …) usei pouco menos de 1/2 metro🙂

  3. The shorts are so adorable, makes me wish I was 5 years old again just so I can wear it and blow bubbles in the sun🙂

  4. I have just ordered the apolline pattern. Is it very difficult to make with French instructions? Do I have to add seam allowances to the pattern?

Comments are closed.