Sewing for Miss M

Cottage mama patterns tour

I was so excited to be a pattern tester for The Cottage Mama. I got to test two of her new patterns: The Matilda Dress/Top and the Skip and Play Capri Pants and just loved the experience.

The whole process was amazing (I learned so much from Lindsay and so many amazing women in the pattern testing group) and it was so much fun to get a sneak peek of the behind the scenes when new patterns are in the making.

If you are new to The Cottage Mama patterns, I strongly advise you to take a look at Lindsay’s blog. She makes the most adorable designs (and not only for girls, you might like to check also the Run Around Romper for boys. It’s so cute) and has a great eye for selecting and adding the perfect details to her outfits. Of course, if you also love ruffles and feminine details, you won’t regret it.

So far, I’ve accomplished 5 of her patterns and each new one becomes a new favorite (yes, I know, I’m a bit behind posting them here. Soon, I promise).

So, when Lindsay asked me to be part of her Cottage Mama Patterns Tour, celebrating the launch of the new printed versions of her patterns, it didn’t take me a second to say yes🙂

Initially, I was going to introduce a lovely Matilda dress I made for my girl during the pattern testing phase.

Nevertheless, on a second though, I assume it wouldn’t be that much fun (to blog about something that was already done), right? Can you think of a better excuse to try a new pattern? (Note: I’ll also be showing the Miss Matilda dress in a couple of days.)

So, enters the new Daphne Wrap Dress (and Top, but I choose the dress option) …

Daphne Dress#5

The Daphne dress is only one of the new 4 patterns from Lindsay. All patterns are available both in printed and PDF versions, and while I love the PDF versions (mainly because of international sipping costs), the printed versions look amazing with the new full-color booklets.

Daphne Dress pattern

Trust me, the most difficult part was choosing the fabrics for the dress (so many options. Me and my girl had it rounded to 3 final options).

Lindsay perfect instructions and flawless pattern pieces meant that sewing the dress was a wonderful experience.

This dress (and top) features 3 views and the pieced front is perfect for adding any sort of embellishment, like an applique or embroidery (skills that I still need to improve). Yet, even without any additional embellishment, the design provides so many other options: mixing trims and fabrics.

Of course, I followed my usual classic style and didn’t venture that much: a Liberty print (from the new Liberty Art Collection) for the main piece and stripped seersucker for the lining (and cute front ruffle).

DSC_0389#1

The dress itsefl has such a lovely design: It buttons with shoulder straps and wraps in the back …

DSC_0396#1

Another great feature is the added piping (all-over the dress). And did I mentioned the front ruffle? (or piping or rick-rack or lace. The possibilities are endless).

DSC_0391#1

DSC_0394#1

Although I loved the dress the minute it was done, I wasn’t expecting this pattern to look so gorgeous on my girl!

The fit was perfect on her – I choose a size 6 and it has a bit of room to grow even with the perfectly adjusted shoulder straps and wrap in the back.

Daphne Dress#2

Yes, that day my girl was not in the mood for pictures (you can’t always win). Not even with “ice-cream bribery” …

DSC_0419#1

She loved the dress nonetheless and wore it, when my husband took her to school this morning (he later told me that a couple of the other mums asked him about where I bought it. He’s just not used to this sort of inquiries, poor man ...)

DSC_0451#1

I reckoned she already had enough summer dress  but this dress showed me that I was SOOOO wrong!!

She really needed this dress (for sure!)

A final note, if you are looking for more lovely inspiration, you might wish to check The Cottage Mama Patterns Tour schedule bellow. I’m sure you will love it (there will be daily inspiration until July 25. Don’t miss it):

TheCottageMamaBlogTourGraphic

And if you’re still looking for more inspiration, don’t forget to check Lindsay upcoming book (that will be released in October). Mine is already on pre-order🙂

Note: The Daphne dress was also KCW day 5🙂

KCW Summer 2013

Happy sewing,

Ana Sofia

17 thoughts on “Cottage mama patterns tour

  1. Thank you so much, Ana Sofia, for being part of this tour! I always find your sewing and fabric selection to be total and complete perfection. The dress looks absolutely gorgeous on your little lady and that liberty fabric takes it over the top. Thanks again and I have truly enjoyed working with you and getting to know you!

    1. Thank you so much for the opportunity, Lindsay!
      I was truly impressed by your new pattern collection – they are all wonderful and perfect for every sewing level. This wrap dress has a wonderful vintage fell that is so appealing to me. Can’t wait to sew some winter versions🙂

    1. Obrigada Marta!
      Confesso que não pensava que ficasse tão giro (achava estranho a combinação dos botões nas alças com o cruzar do vestido nas costas) e fiquei agradavelmente surpreendida🙂

Comments are closed.