Sewing · Sewing for Miss M

KCW day 6 (and a pattern preview)

I’m a bit late posting KCW Day 6 project, but I do have a good justification (kind of) ….

Yesterday, my little boy asked if he could have a new pair of “mummy-made shorts” (the old ones were getting too tight at the waist), and although he has enough shorts in his closet, none is handmade. So, my “blogging time” was used to get new shorts made for this little guy. Obviously, I will be posting on these during the week.

For KCW 6, I’m introducing a blouse I made using a still-to-be-release blouse pattern from Marte (from Compagnie M.).

When I found Marte’s bog I fell in love with her exquisite sense of style and gorgeous sewing. If you’ve been following (and loving) the Kids Clothes Belgian Style, you will love her style as much as I do.

When the opportunity arose to test her new pattern, I jumped in and was lucky to be selected🙂 (happy, happy)

Mara Blouse_1

This pattern will be the Mara Blouse (you see the post explaining the name, here) and it’s so lovely.

For this testing, I used a piece of Liberty tana lawn that was just waiting for the right pattern and white cotton for the yoke.

Mara blouse_2

The blouse is just too adorable and perfect for little (and not so little) girls.

Mara Blouse#6

It features a round yoke at the front and a couple of tiny pintucks that make it even more sweet. There’s an option of piping the front yoke, but I skipped that because I couldn’t find a piping that suited my fabric. I will be adding it next time, as it really is a lovely feature (especially if you’re doing the blouse all in one print).

Another great feature is the butterfly sleeves. Just too cute (and summery).

Mara blouse_3

The pattern was available as a pdf pattern with lots of additional information, real size pattern pieces (sizes 1 year to 10 years) and color step-by step pictures. Overall, the Mara Blouse is a great pattern and I’m sure I’ll be making a few more soon. It has quite a few interesting features – sleeves, yoke and pintucks – and, surprisingly, it is very straight-forward to make.

PicMonkey_Mara Blouse

Marte’s instructions are very clear and I’m pretty sure even a beginner would be able to follow them easily.

Mara Blouse#3

As per Marte’s information, release date for the Mara Blouse is September/October, so if you love it (like I do), you may wish to keep an eye on her blog.

KCW Summer 2013

Happy sewing,

Ana Sofia

16 thoughts on “KCW day 6 (and a pattern preview)

  1. Liberty é Liberty! A camisa ficou mesmo gira! Tenho que exprimentar este modelo com um dos Liberty que estão no meu armário à mais de um ano (gosto tanto deles que tenho medo de os cortar!)

Comments are closed.