Sewing for Miss M

2013

I was going to post about how much we feel blessed for in 2013 and how much we have grown and learned as a family.

Yet, as my family plays a board game in the living room, I believe this would be a faithful sum-up of our 2013 (and our wishes for 2014) than any words I might write:

lauraingalls

Before 2013 ends here’s my little girl’s look on Christmas day.

The story behind the look: In earlier September, I fell in love with a lovely Liberty blouse from Jacadi fall/winter 13 collection (I pinned it here) but was quickly discouraged by its price tag. 

So obviously, a similar version would need to be made🙂

To be honest, Ottobre issue has a pattern that looks like the original Jacadi blouse (Rousku blouse from issue 4/2010) but I decided to sew another pattern: I use a Citronille pattern, Agnès, but skipped the smocking and I really think it made a lovely tunic.

Christmas 2013#3

The Liberty print is Besty Ann in red from the Liberty Autumn Winter 2013 collection – I love the colors and the small floral really appeals to me. I’m guessing this blouse will look lovely with jeans.

To coordinate with the blouse I made her a pair of corduroy shorts (Finch shorts from Clever Charlotte) using a fabric I’d purchase on a recent trip to Madrid (Spain). 

Christmas 2013#1

Usually on Christmas day, my children wear more casual clothes: they open the presents in the morning (wearing new handmade pj’s) and in the afternoon, it’s playtime (and they take this very seriously).

Christmas 2013#2

The Christmas outfit was ready well before the date and just because I couldn’t help myself (how could I, seriously?), I made her yet another matching piece, the Oliver+S Hopscotch Skirt, and that was a great decision: She ended up wearing both the shorts and the skirt on Christmas Day.

Christmas 2013#4

Thank you so much to each and every one of you for visiting us here – it means the world to me🙂

Happy New Year!!

xx, Ana Sofia

 

26 thoughts on “2013

    1. lol
      I do love when the house is filled with sunshine – we do have huge windows in most rooms which I love🙂
      Unfortunately now it’s winter so I keep wishing for warmer sunnier days🙂
      Happy New Year!

  1. Hi Anna-Sofia,

    Happy New Year ! Love your new sewings. As a matter of fact, I’ve sewn two similar Agnès for daughter in the same Liberty before Christmas and really love them ! They are also visible on my blog in the last three posts.

    I wish you a great 2014 and lots of new sewing adventures.

    Where are you from exactly ?

    I am from France , one hour from Paris

    Happy sewing

    Sylvie

    1. Thank you Sylvie!
      Just checked your blog – it’s so lovely and everything you do is amazing! (I’m a follower!)
      You do seem to have the same tastes in clothing – this Liberty print is even more beautiful in real like, don’t you agree?
      Happy New Year for you and your lovely family!
      Hope to see more lovely creations from you in 2014!

  2. Both the shorts and the skirt pair lovely with the blouse…glad that they both got worn! I hope you have a wonderful 2014! I’m looking forward to seeing more beautiful, classic clothes from you.:)

    1. Thank you Cindy!
      Both the shorts and skirt are so easy to coordinate with so many tops in her wardrobe (love it when this happens) and I know she will be wearing these a lot!
      Wishing you all a Happy New Year! Ditto, I can’t also wait to see what you’ll be showing us this year🙂

  3. I love the outfit so much. You are making me want to splurge on some liberty fabric. Can you tell me about the collar? Is it attached? Thank you! Happy New Year!

    1. Thank you!
      Most of my Liberty comes from eBay auctions so it’s usually not that expensive (compared to international sipping for quilting cottons from the US). And it does make some lovely classic quality pieces of garment.
      The collar is from a blouse she’s wearing underneath (I always layer to accommodate our mild winters. She’s not very keen on wearing coats …). I got them from a local shop (search “letras bordadas” on facebook) when they are on sale🙂
      Happy New Year for you and your lovely family!

      1. I just wanted to tell you that I just made my first significant Liberty purchase (I had only bought scarps once) on Ebay. And it was a decent amount less than what I thought I would pay. I have no idea what I will make with it but half the fun will be figuring that out. Thank you for the inspiration!

      2. Oh dear! I’m pretty sure it won’t be the last🙂
        Liberty auctions on eBay can be very addictive …
        Can’t wait to see what you do with it! Let the fun begin!!

  4. B-E-A-U-T-I-F-U-L floral blouse with medium blue corduroy shorts AND navy skirt to wear for CHRISTMAS DAY with the family! Such tiny flowers in red, pink & blues. CUTE last photo of your daughter cuddling her baby doll. You have sewn a FAB outfit, casual for the holidays at home. BRAVO! Sarah Helene, Minneapolis, MN

Comments are closed.