Sewing for Miss M

Agnès blouses [I know, not again]

Instead of sewing the much-needed basic blouses lacking in my girl’s wardrobe (by basic I mean a button-up blouse in a solid color such as white, off-white and blue), I keep repeating the same Liberty+Agnès blouse receipt over and over again.

I have to confess, I don’t get bored from sewing the same pattern again and again, as long as I love the result. So this seems to work for me. Obviously, my little girl also doesn’t seem very bothered with the situation (as long as she can pick the buttons, she’s kind of okay with it), which makes it easier for me to keep indulging on these …

As an excuse, I told myself I needed to try adding a collar to the already much-tested (and approved) Agnès blouse (by Citronille).

My kids are not huge fans of wearing coats (and most of the time they really don’t need it), but somehow I need to see something in their neck – and that’s the main reason why I keep adding a collar blouse underneath these blouses. So, I needed to find a solution.

For these two versions (yes, she really needed more than one) I reduced the fullness of the bodice, front and back, by a couple of inches, skipped the smocking and added a self-drafted a peter pan collar – It was so simple, I drafted a similar piece from another blouse pattern and made the necessary adjustments. Agnes Blue Thorpe#5 I was lucky enough to have a few modeled pictures by my girl :) She’s such a drama queen, lately! I think she’s taking her drama classes (at school) a bit too far … (yes, she’s saying “I can’t take more photos!”, but she’s not to be taken seriously).  Agnes Blue Thorpe#1 The blouse above is paired with Oliver+S Hopscotch skirt in navy corduroy, which is proven to be a great wardrobe staple – she wears it a lot because it’s comfy and doesn’t restrict her movements in the recess (nowadays she seems to lend towards casual clothes in neutral colors. Pink and lilac are no longer favorites). I love the fit of this blouse on my girl – it has a classic, timeless design, yet it looks modern and fresh (no extra details are needed). If you can’t get a Citronille pattern, just take a look at other pattern companies – there are quite a few similar patterns in the market that would look just as nice. Agnes Betsy An#3 The version above was made using my current favorite Liberty print (Betsy Ann in grey. Already used here in another colorway). Although this print doesn’t photograph well (specially with our current winter light) it’s rather sweet – the smaller floral design and the soft color scheme are simply stunning. (the collar, and the blouse, looks a bit wonky in the above picture, but I swear it’s okay in real life).  Agnes Blue Thorpe#3 The original blouse pattern has elasticated sleeves, but as my girls doesn’t really approve it, so I decided to finished it with a simple hem. Again, this blouse coordinates so well with other pieces from her wardrobe. She’s wearing it with Clever Charlotte Finch shorts in caramel corduroy (worn so many times before that I’m sure they will soon need to be replaced), but it also looks great with jeans. Agnes Betsy An#1 Finally, and just because I really should be keeping a fair record of my sewing (specially for this pattern), here’s a previous version (not yet posted) of this blouse. Agnes Claire Aude#1 This was done in late October and is quite true to the original pattern (smocking and elasticated sleeves included).

Fabric for the blouse is Liberty Claire Aude, a classic tana lawn print.  Agnes Claire Aude#2 I’ve put this pattern aside (at least for the moment) as I’m quite sure she has enough Agnes blouses in her closet (and doesn’t need more!). So far, I have done 6 different versions of this blouse and I can’t pick a favorite! 

From now on, I should really focus on basic blouses (solid colors, peter pan collar and front plackets, please)! :)

Happy sewing, xx, Ana Sofia

Additional Info:

Because I get lots of requests about Citronille patterns, I’m adding a picture of Agnès instructions – this pattern is written in French and comes with a lovely smocks leaflet (not much info inside for the beginner, but it’s pretty to look at). Again, I find Citronille patterns lovely and timeless, which is probably why I love them. I order mine directly from France (which could be expensive if you live outside Europe) but I have also found quite a few options (like this one in English and pdf download) that could provide a similar blouse.


28 thoughts on “Agnès blouses [I know, not again]

  1. well, I’m sure you tell the truth when you say that she needs basic blouses, but I have got to say: I love seeing your liberty agnes blouses :) it’s just “you”. what at “Project Run and Play” they call “Signature Style” – this here is yours… and it is a extremly beautiful signature style…

    1. Trust me, she does need a couple of solid shirts :)
      I’m really indulging in some sort of selfish sewing, because I get distracted by these lovelies every time I reach my fabric stash. In my defense, I should add that sewing a basic white shirt is not as much fun :)
      But I will, I know I will (I just haven’t set a deadline for it …)
      PS. Thank you about your comment about my “Signature Style”. I haven’t though about it that way, but you might be right!

  2. Such beautiful amazing tops. I love the collar. I would love to make clothes for my daughter that look like the ones you make. I think even if you made a solid colored top it would not be “plain”. Everything you make is so gorgeous!

    1. Thank you! The collar was quite a simple addition – I used a template from another pattern and made some adjustments (I wanted to be smaller).
      I still need to sew those solid basic blouses (not setting a deadline, but they need to be done soon …)

    1. They grey Betsy An is my favorite as well (I’m so in love with this print)!
      I made the blue version first to pilot test the collar – I think I got a better fit on the second version (the grey blouse), but this print was quite a nightmare to photograph (specially indoors).

  3. Todas girissimas! Adoro os tecidos, como sempre. E este molde é tão clássico que fica sempre lindamente.
    Não sei como tens paciência para repetir o mesmo molde várias vezes! Eu sou incapaz! Se quero ter alguma peça de roupa igual para a Teresa e para a Ines já sei que as tenho que costurar ao mesmo tempo se não já não consigo fazer a segunda…

    1. Na maior parte das vezes também sou assim (principalmente com os pijamas. Imagina fazer 3 de seguida. Um sufoco!), mas quando encontro um molde de que gosto (muito) o caso muda de figura – até ao momento já fiz 6 destas túnicas e tenho mesmo de me forçar a parar :)

  4. Hello Ana Sofia,

    All of your sewing is so gorgeous! I am absolutely in love with the blouse and the shorts. I looked at the Citronille and notice that the pattern is in French. I don’t read or speak French and so I am wondering if the tutorial has enough description and pictures to follow without knowing the language?


    1. Sorry! This pattern is only available in French. I don’t find it difficult to follow if you have some sewing experience. Citronille instructions are not very detailed but there are some illustrations to help you along the way). PS: I’ve added some additional info on the post above. Maybe it helps :)

  5. Hello Ana Sofia,

    I would like to ask if the smocks picutre you show above it is a book or part of a book. I think I would be interested in buying.

    You blog, that I just found out, it is adorable. Thank you for sharing.

    All the best,


    1. Hi Clemence,
      Thank you for your sweet comment.
      The smocks picture above is from the Citronille pattern Agnès – this pattern (written in French) comes with a small booklet on smocking (just some basic information to get you started. It doesn’t include detailed information for the smocks).

  6. E quem é que precisa de básicos com estas blusas tão giras? Tal como a Marta, tb não sou grande fã de repetir os mesmos moldes, e quando o faço geralmente é com muito tempo entre um e outro. Mas quando funciona e se gosta, porque não?!

  7. Nos enfants auront tout le temps de porter des vêtements basiques… Tant qu’ils acceptent de porter les pièces qu’on a choisies, il faut en profiter ;).
    Tes versions d’Agnès en liberty sont magnifiques, il faut vraiment vraiment que je m’y penche, mon patron est encore dans son plastique alors que je l’ai acheté il y a déjà 3 mois ! Et j’adorerais trouver d’aussi jolis tissus, mais je trouve le liberty tellement cher… :(

I love to hear from you :-)

