Sewing · Sewing for Miss M · Sewing Series

KCW 2014 // Blue dots

KCW 2014 ended yesterday, but I had a busy weekend and couldn’t post my final pieces.

So, I guess, I’ll keep on posting some KCW 2014 pieces here for a little longer …

Despite the busy weekend (mostly devoted to assembling a new Ikea cupboard and assisting my older boys with their homework/study) there was still time for some sewing and even managed to include a photo session.

Although, I do have to confess that some projects were left unfinished (as usual, I was aiming for the moon with a huge list of sewing projects).


Further to my previous project, the School Photo dress (also from Oliver +S) was also on the top of my KCW 2014 sewing list.

For a couple of reasons (it takes more yardage than my usual go-patterns and a bit more sewing time) I have made this dress only once before. Yet, my girl wore it lot and it soon become one of these dresses that you pick when you don’t have enough time left to deal with “morning tantrums” – it’s also cozy enough for winter dressing (specially if you had a cardigan/little coat on top) and it also doubles quite well as a transition dress (adorable for spring or fall).


The fabric is a blue dots pique cotton, from my stash, that was just the right amount for the dress. However , this time, I was able to sew a size up (which always make me happy) and use a small piece of Liberty that was a leftover of another project for the hidden pocket (double happy :) ).

For adding interest, I also add large rick-rack to the front panels. It was a bit tricky but it worked quite well.


I would not rate this dress as an easy project, but it’s definitely very satisfaction – and after the hidden pocket is completed, the rest of the dress comes together pretty easily (yes, even the invisible back pocket).


Obviously the main attraction of this dress is the front hidden pocket, and I’m quite sure this alone will make this dress a success with any little girl.


I even got a few giggles!!


Happy sewing, 

xx Ana Sofia

13 thoughts on “KCW 2014 // Blue dots

  1. FAB dress sewn in small grey dots on white fabric with a hidden pocket for whatever a young girl wants to carry around! Large blue rick-rack trimming both the bodice & vertical front panel– so COOL, adding color with matching blue tights! I love the collar & banded 3/4 length sleeves. All-in-all a CLASSIC pattern. Perfectly sewn by a loving MOM! HAPPY daughter is smiling during her photo shoot! Sarah Helene, Minneapolis, MN

  2. I really need to remake a school photo dress – I’ve only made one before too, but it was such a neat pattern. Love your subtle fabric with the big rickrack! It looks fantastic!

    1. I’ve only sewn one before as well, but it really got worn a lot so I knew another one was a must. It does take a little more to sew (not the fastest dress) but it looks very professional and if this one gets as much wear as the previous version I’ll be a very happy mummy :)

I love to hear from you :-)

