Sewing for Miss M · Uncategorized

Belated KCW Spring 2014

After this dress, I still managed to find a bit of time (late, very late) to sew another dress during KCW week.

What I did struggle to find was time (and proper light) to document it …

I had fell in love with the lines of one the latest Children’s Corner releases, the Poppy dress and blouse (here and here), and couldn’t wait to sew a version for my girl.

This is a A-line dress with tapered diagonal pleats in the front and back. It also has hidden side-seam pockets, which are always a bonus with my girl. 

As you may have guessed, I was capture by the timeless shape of the dress yet I did manage to select a bolder print to match it (Liberty Thorpe in Red/Blue, Size 6 years). 

DSC_0889

The original pattern also features a front bow, but I decided to skip it (my print was too busy and the bow would be “dismissed”). Nevertheless, it’s definitively a sweet detail and I’m sure it will be a perfect accent with a different fabric combo.

DSC_0894

Obviously, getting my girl to model this dress was not an easy task (as usual). Lately she has been having quite a few ideas for our photo sessions…

Instead of her ballet shoes (love them in navy velvet), she decided my high-heel boots would be a perfect match for this dress (indoor photo sessions can be quite boring…) so this was what I got …

DSC_0879

DSC_0880

DSC_0883

DSC_0885

Trust me, she was having the time of her life (I’m guessing most little girl’s love to wear their mother’s shoes).

DSC_0881

If you’re not familiar with The Children’s Corner patterns, you should give it a try (the instructions are quite detailed and I do find them quite easy to follow. If you need an extra guidance, their Help Videos are a must). Their patterns feature timeless designs (most are suitable to smocking) but depending on your fabric selection you can really get a modern twist.

Later that day, we went on a movie date and she did wear the dress with the velvet ballet shoes (I wore the boots) – she looked so precious🙂

Initially, this was going to be her Easter dress, but she wore it for a couple of events before, so I decided to sew her a new one. Hopefully I will be able to post about it before the summer season starts …

sewing_machine_button_300_square

Happy sewing,

xx Ana Sofia

 

 

 

 

18 thoughts on “Belated KCW Spring 2014

  1. It is so gorgeous!!! I love the fabric you chose. What a great idea to get your daughter to model. I will have to try that. I have admired Children’s Corner patterns but have never bought one not being sure if I was up to sewing them. Now that you mentioned that they are detailed and have videos I will definitely be buying some. I really want to learn to smock too.

    1. I have always love CC designs but I was also a bit unsure when I first try them. Nonetheless, so far I have only got great results and the fit is perfect on my girl🙂 The videos are very useful for learning new techniques (the wrap-around yoke video, for the Ruthie dress, is one of my favorites).

  2. Este vestido ficou tão giro, Sofia! Adoro o moldelo e o tecido!
    A tua modelo também está o maximo. Cá em casa as minhas socas de pelo encarnado são sempre um sucesso…

    1. Obrigada Marta! Foi mesmo uma sessão de última hora (já tinha este molde há algum tempo mas estava à espera do bom tempo …). Confesso que parece mais escuro nas fotos (o tecido é bem mais giro ao vivo e é super leve). Ela adora os meus sapatos (acho que vou ter problemas daqui a uns anos) e tudo o que seja de “menina”🙂

  3. Thank you so much for using Poppy. i love it too. You photos are adorable. We have two new patterns- Laura and Stacia. You can see them atwww.childrenscornerinc.com. I would to send them to you as a gift to try.
    Lezette Thomason, Children’s Corner

    1. Thank you so much for your comment, Lezette!
      I’m a huge fan of your patterns – the final garments are always very professional results and the fit is perfect on my girl. I can highly recommend them to anyone who loves timeless, classic designs for girls (and little boys, of course).

  4. CUTE photos wearing Mom’s boots with her new dress. The bright floral colors & dress design are FAB. Thanks for sharing. . . .Sarah Helene in Minneapolis

  5. Qué bonito te ha quedado. Y qué gracia me ha hecho ver estas fotos con los zapatos de tacón, ya que a mi hija también le da por ponérselos.

Comments are closed.