Sewing for Miss M

Flowers for Mother’s day :)

Did you know that in Portugal, we celebrate Mother’s day on the first Sunday in May?

And guess, what I sew for Mother’s day?

garden-party2

Another dress! How obvious could that be?

Serious, I’m finding it a bit difficult to resist all the lovely (and fabulous to say the least) dress patterns out there (do expect more…).

This is Oliver+S Garden Party dress (there’s also a blouse version included, but the dress was calling my name) and I did took me quite a while to pick a fabric for it.

Initially, I was going to sew a chambray/Liberty version, but I was looking to something that could match the pattern name (Garden Party). I ended up finding it right in my stash (where else)! In case you’re interested, I purchased the fabric from here.

 

 

garden-party4

As I couldn’t find a matching fabric for this soft floral print I decided to use trimmings instead: 2 different trims were used for the front yoke and front/back waistband.

No further amendments were made to the original pattern (which is a size 6) besides using an elastic loop tape for the back opening (instead of the recommended thread chain, which I never managed to do properly).

Garden Party#6

To be honest, I was quite surprised (though I shouldn’t, being an Oliver+S pattern) to find how easy this dress was – the most challenging part was getting all the gathers properly placed, but other than that it was quite an easy sewing.

Garden Party#4

I will definitely be making a chambray/Liberty version next …

Garden Party#3

We didn’t get much action shots, but I can assure you that this dress is well-loved already (and it’s so so pretty on her).

Happy Mother’s Day!!

xx, Ana Sofia

 

19 thoughts on “Flowers for Mother’s day :)

  1. I love this so much! The trim is such a beautiful touch! I spent today sewing this pattern as well – no thread loop for me either!

    1. Thank you so much Peta! I purchased this pattern as soon as it was released, but I did struggle with the fabric selection. Luckily, adding a trim made it easier for me (otherwise, I suppose I would still be debating on fabric options)!

  2. El patron es lindo y original. …pero tu con esa tela y esos detalles has conseguido que sea mas bonito aun!!!!.
    Me chifla y tu niña que guapa y que mayor! !!!
    Besitos guapa

    1. Thank you Cindy! It does looked perfect for Mother’s Day (and would have been perfect for Easter as well) and she’s been wearing it for church, visit granny (and even school, when she manages to convince me!)

  3. Wow. I know by now to expect some pretty trims and lovely florals when I visit your blog but this is sensational. The trim works so nicely here and makes it completely different to any other I’ve seen so far.

    1. Oh, thank you so much! I seriously couldn’t help it – especially because I couldn’t find a matching print for the waistband🙂
      For the next version, I’ll try harder🙂

  4. I AGREE WITH JANICE– beautiful fine cotton fabric from Ratucos in pale pink & blue flowers plus beige on a cream background, so elegant! LOVE the 2 different trims, one on front yoke and wider cream satin ribbon pulled through white wide lace for the empire waist. BRAVO for your daughter wearing your creation! Truly heirloom quality to “hand down” to other little girls to add a smile to their face when they wear this dress. Sarah in Minneapolis

Comments are closed.