Sewing for Miss M

Sewlosophy: Testing and a Giveaway

I don’t think it’s a secret that I love to test new patterns.

I reckon my sewing style needs to be challenged from time to time. Testing new patterns (and specially from new designers) helps me to step outside my comfort zone and really appreciate all the work that producing a good pattern really involves.

The lady I’m about to introduce here just released her first pattern collection and I couldn’t be more pleased for the chance to join her (and an amazing group of other ladies)  during the testing process.

Destri (you may know her from The Mother Huddle) took a three-years journey before her brand, Sewlosophy, and pattern collection finally come to life.

The Serendipity Collection includes 4 designs: beret, swing coat, blouse and trousers/capris.

Destri had a lot of work putting this collection together: each digital pattern includes a video tutorial (Highly recommended, specifically if like me, you’re a visual seamstress). Another great thing about these pattern is their size range: 2 to 12 years🙂

I got to test the Swing Coat and the Beret. And these didn’t disappoint. Cute and adorable and quite a pleasure to sew (and oh, so easy).

Both the coat and the beret are fully reversible and can be worn for all seasons depending on the fabric you use. For this version I’ve used cotton pique for the outside and linen for the lining (here and here).

#2

I sew these a couple of months ago, while the rain was pouring outside, but I did achieved a few action pictures. Cute, right?

#1

The much-needed/requested picture with a matching “blue” doll.

#6

 

Do be sure to visit the Serenditipy Collection website – I just love every single piece there.

#3

And I have even better news for you: A Serendipity Collection Giveaway!!

Destri is kindly offering a copy of the entire Serendipity Collection to one of S is for Sewing readers (yes, that could be you!).

Just leave me a comment bellow and I’ll use random.org to pick the lucky winner. The giveaway closes Saturday, June 7 at 11 pm GMT!

Good luck to you🙂

#5

PS: I’ll be posting the lucky winner on Monday, June 9 and, hopefully, I’ll also show you my new Serenditipy blouse🙂

Of course, you could (and should) also get the patterns here – Use code SEW10 to receive 10% off until Monday, June 2 (if you buy the entire collection there’s even a 30% off bundle).

Happy sewing,

xx Ana Sofia

 Update: This Giveaway is now Closed. Thank you so much for participating. The winner will be posted here on Monday, June 9, 2014.

67 thoughts on “Sewlosophy: Testing and a Giveaway

  1. Gorgeous coat, Ana Sofia! I would love to make one for my daughters!
    E muitos parabéns pela vitória no flip this pattern! Foi totalmente merecida!

  2. Destri did my favorite tutorial EVER for a pillowcase dress and when folks look for a tutorial she’s where I send them so I’m really excited for her! I’m sure these are wonderfully done!

    I would absolutely LOVE to win this! The pictures on the shop site are amazing and already have my designer/seamstress heart going pitter pat!

  3. What a gorgeous coat. You have never made anything I didn’t love. I love your style. It would be such a pleasure to win this pattern as I have 7 precious granddaughters whom I delight in sewing for. Thank you for the opportunity.

  4. Pretty and it looks very cosy too. New designs do give great inspiration. I hate having to wait to start while I’m finishing something else!!

  5. Those patterns look absolutely gorgeous and I love the colours you’ve used in the ones you made

  6. That’s beautiful, Ana Sofia!! And….WOW….a video tutorial?!?!? That’s ‘above and beyond’, isn’t it?!?! Off to see the rest of the collection with crossed fingers that I win :)….

  7. This is a discovery for me and I must say I love the details. Woukd love to win the free bundle and if not, I’m seriously considering using the discount code!🙂

  8. I was divine shelter, these tones are very sweet and feel great, is to test your daughter is gorgeous with. I had a great pattern Destri testing has been a pleasure to meet you in the group.

    Kisses/Bea

  9. just found this pattern company yesterday and was very impressed – especially with the video option! What a great idea! My favorite pattern of the collection was the blouse – looking forward to seeing yours:)

  10. Gorgeous coat, Ana Sofia! I would love to make one for my daughter! We both love te read your blog!

  11. Bravo ! Nice work ! I love your coat and this beautiful fabric !
    I’d be very happy to win these patterns !🙂 Thanks to the ‘pdf’ you can send everywhere, can’t you ? I try my luck from France!🙂

  12. Ohhh!! Qué bonito el conjunto!! Yo quiero participar en este super sorteo!!
    Gracias por tu comentario sobre mi vestido, mi hermana ha vivido casi dos años en Portugal y me trajo muchas telas. Le tengo mucho cariño al país porque ella ha estado muy bien allí! Así que un besazo para Portugal!!

  13. I love this pattern – really want to make one for my daugher. Thank you for the giveaway. I’m keeping my fingers crossed!

  14. Beautiful interpretation of the coat pattern ! My favourites from the collection are the trousers and top . Thank you for the chance to win a pattern.

  15. Classic and charming! Absolutely love the lines of this jacket…granddaughters come in all shapes and sizes! My first visit to your website. I am so delighted….thank you for sharing your pictures.

Comments are closed.