Sewing for Miss M

Little roses

My little girl finally completed kindergarten.

She has been eagerly waiting for this moment since the start of the school year: She would ask us almost every day how long would it take.

She’s a lovely (and utterly sweet) girl, but I don’t think patience is one of her virtues – she’s quite determined and competitive.

“Slow down, my love. Don’t grow up so fast …” you can hear me saying so often these days. Time really does fly (and I know I’m still not ready for it …)

Sewing-wise, I did made a new dress for the school celebration (how could I not?): Ottobre Little Roses dress pattern (nº 18 from issue 3/2012).

This dress has been on my sewing-list since this issue was published – it only took me 2 years to make it🙂

DSC_0348 (2)

Based on the dress name (little roses), I reckon a floral fabric would be quite appropriate.

I had just ordered an amazing voile, so this was the obvious choice (the lining is also from Ratucos – a soft nude pink batiste).

DSC_0349 (2)

The dress features a row of pintucks in the front and back and gathered sleeves. It is fully lined and it was quite a pleasure to sew (for some awkward reason, I do love to sew pintucks and a lined garment always make me happy).

Did she love it?

To be honest, I’m not quite sure.

DSC_0587

I love the soft color palette (there’s a hint of mint in the mix, which is rather sweet) and I believe it was fit for (my) princess, but I can almost swear she would rather something sparking and bright (I know my girl).

Nevertheless, we both love the design – it was breezy and perfect for a hot summer day.

My only complain – it was already too short on her …

DSC_0589

Obviously, she loved that as well🙂

(and yes, I will be adding a few inches to the next version).

Happy sewing,

xx Ana Sofia

 

28 thoughts on “Little roses

  1. Ana Sofia! This is beautiful. I am so glad you got round to sewing it. The dress caught my eye too but I haven’t had the time to add it to the list yet. Maybe I will trace it off – just incase?!

    1. Yes, you should/must!
      I’m so glad I did – after 2 years in the pipeline, there’s only one size above (hopefully for next version). PS: it does comes together rather quickly.

    1. Thank you Carla! She looked so adorable in the graduation – the colors were just right for the occasion.
      Eles crescem mesmo num abrir e fechar de olhos🙂

  2. HOW UTTERLY LOVELY– beautiful voile fabric (fully lined) featuring bunches of roses in shades of pinks for your darling little girl! This “Little Roses” pattern is elegant as is your fabric choice. SUPER sewing, too! FAB PHOTO SHOOT! THANKS for sharing. Sarah in Minneapolis

  3. the fabric is perfect for the pattern! It looks so delicate and lovely, just gorgeous! I think I need to look into this pattern now…

    1. It’s lovey Sharon! A bit to feminine for my “current” tomb-girl, but it looks rather sweet on her and she did some radical activities in the after-party with it, so I reckon it passed the test🙂

  4. This is so sweet! And yes, you’re right, the speed at which time passes is very, very strange. When my oldest Jude was a baby and toddler, the days seemed to last forever. As our family has grown, each day (and week and year) as seemed to pass even more quickly. I think it makes you enjoy them more, you know? Both the days and the kids. 🙂 Congrats to your big kindergarten grad – with such a beautiful dress to celebrate the occasion.

    1. Thank you Rachel! I love to see them grow, but sometimes I feel I’m on denial – part of me wishes they could stay little for a little while🙂

    1. I don’t mind it either, but I’m just sorry that she won’t be able to wear for a long time🙂. She’s pleased with length nonetheless, as usually I don’t sew this short (need to focus on the positive side)

  5. Breathtaking! I just love everything about this dress, the fabric, the design, everything! So beautiful for such beautiful girl!🙂

  6. I think this pattern is a little short, as it is more tunic-y on my gal as well. Love your version!

  7. Oh, it’s so very very lovely! My middle one finished Kindergarten this year too. But the thought of my little daughter in Kindergarten already brings tears to my eyes even though she doesn’t start for two more years. The youngest ones grow up so much faster, don’t they? In so many ways.

  8. Debo decirte, eres unica, todo lo que haces lo llevas a un nivel superior, hermoso, sinceramente eres una inspiracion para aquellas que nos gusta hacer ropa para nuestras niñas, besos!!

    1. Muchas gracias Adriana🙂
      La verdad es que me gusta costurar para mis niños (los vestidos son mi debilidad) y me dará mucha pena cuando no les guste más levar ropitas hechas por su mammy😦
      Besos!

Comments are closed.