Sewing for Miss M · Sewing Series

Day Three: KCW July 2014

There were a couple of patterns I knew I wanted to sew for KWC: Children’s Corner Frannie (dress) was definitively on the top of my list.

KCW recommends to sew for 1 hour/day and I knew I would be able to complete this dress within that time frame (yes, that’s as simple especially if you have done several times before).

Frannie Betsy 4

The pattern includes only 5 pieces (front and back plus matching linings and the collar piece) and like all Children’s Corner patterns each size is individually drafted so you can cut the pattern pieces for the size you need (this is a size 6) while preserving  the other sizes for later (and I love that, because tracing patterns is not my favorite part of sewing).

The design of this dress is quite flattering and, most important is perfect for hot summer days (breezy and twirly) especially if you use a special Liberty tana law (or a beautiful voile) print – the drape is absolutely perfect. For this version, I choose a classic Liberty print: Betsy (a timeless floral bought on eBay).

The dress features a lovely peter pan collar (piping added) and the fullness is adjusted with side-ties/ribbons for added cuteness.

This dress is fully lined (no exposed seams) and I’m looking forward to try a fall version using a fine corduroy (note: for a fall/winter version, I would skip the peter pan collar so that it could be worn with a turtleneck underneath).

Frannie Betsy 5

And finally, on day three of KCW July 2014, “someone” decided to model the dress. Obviously, it was made for dancing🙂

Frannie Betsy 2

Frannie Betsy 1

Frannie Betsy 3

Happy sewing,

xx Ana sofia

KCW 0214-ice-cream-300

12 thoughts on “Day Three: KCW July 2014

  1. This is one of my most-used patterns – it’s such a cute result for a quick sew. I’ve done cord and it is very cute with a shirt with a collar underneath (elastic instead of ribbon under arms, too).

    1. I can’t wait to sew a corduroy version. I’m sure it will be very much loved around here – I’ve done it with elastic instead of ribbon and it works really well🙂

  2. Very cute pattern. I have had some trouble finding patterns. I discovered that burda style has ones that are printable for a reasonable price that are very cute styles. I think for me one of my next projects is making all the kids winter coats. I found all the patterns for the girls, but the boys are the ones I am looking for now. May just buy my oldest sons coat since he is an adult size, but I need a size 16 US for my next son… Dress coats/clothes patterns are difficult to find for boys especially older boys

    1. Girl’s patterns are usually so much easier to find (lots of styles and sizes) but boy’s are definitely scarce😦
      Burda and Kwik Sew seem to offer lots of choices (you may wish to check Ottobre (http://ottobredesign.fi/) – they do have lots of patterns for older boys, but getting an issue may be difficult and these are a bit expensive)

    1. Obrigada Carla! Por enquanto ela ainda vai gostando deste estilo de vestido (muita roda e golinha) por isso eu aproveito🙂
      E foi mesmo rápido – claro que ter feito 5 versões antes também ajudou😉

      1. Thank you for adding the link! I can highly recommend the videos (in fact, I have in previous posts) – they are truly helpful and inspiring🙂

  3. It is gorgeous! I love the piping on the collar did you make it. I didn’t know that you didn’t have to trace these patterns. That is wonderful! More time to sew!

  4. I love how this dress looks, but my granddaughters have that clothing/texture thing, and they just don’t like how the underarm of this pattern feels. They are so nudgey about it, even when made of Liberty, that I stopped making it.

Comments are closed.