Sewing for Miss M · Sewing Series

Day Seven: KCW July 2014

For KCW I usually only select patterns that I had sewn before and, therefore, I’m confident that could be accomplished within the 1-hour time-frame (with some exceptions, of course). But for the last day of KCW July 2014 I decided to sew a just-released pattern from Citronille: the Rosamée dress. Rosamee Citronille I was immediately taken by the simple design of this dress (and those lovely flutter sleeves …). The package arrived the week before KCW and from reading the instructions I could tell it was going to be an easy sew (so, this was actually done during KCW). And I was right! Rosameee Liberty 5 Simple sewing for such a gorgeous results, no wonder this has just become my new favorite Citronille pattern. Rosameee Liberty 4 Some caution notes:  As most Citronille patterns, you shouldn’t expect detailed instructions but if you know the basics you can actually sew from them. Citronille patterns are mostly available in French (some have already been translated to English) and provide step-by-step basic instructions. The Rosamée is only available in French😦

There are only a few pieces and I’m sure it won’t be long before you start to see similar versions everywhere. It’s a simple round-yoke dress (buttons in the back) with flutter sleeves and gathered skirt (sorry about the blurry picture, but it gives you an idea of the back view). Rosameee Liberty 6 Usually Citronille sizes run a bit too short on my girl, but this is actually a size 6 (she’s 6 1/2 years) and there’s some room to grow. Which is great, because she immediately labelled it as a “fall dress” (“because of the colors mummy“) so obviously I could expect her to wear it for quite a few months, right? Rosameee Liberty 1 Citronille patterns don’t really offer you great sewing techniques or additional features (like different views and options), but they always manage to capture French style so well with simple, classic looks that never go out of style.  My initial idea was to sew a chambray version, but this Liberty print (Mirabelle) was begging to be used … Rosameee Liberty 3 So there you go, my final contribution to KCW July 2014. Rosameee Liberty 2 Shall I come back tomorrow for a KCW recap? See you tomorrow. KCW 0214-ice-cream-300 Happy sewing, xx Ana Sofia

14 thoughts on “Day Seven: KCW July 2014

  1. It is so beautiful. I can’t believe how many beautiful dresses you made this week. I just purchased my first Citronille pattern yesterday at a quilt show. I am excited to make it.

    1. It was such a pleasure to sew this dress (I’m sure it wasn’t one of her favorites because of that color comment, but she’s been wearing it)! Can’t wait to see your Citronille sewing🙂

  2. How DARLING, this Rosamee dress sewn in a Liberty print for your young daughter! LOVELY cotton print featuring rose and blue flowers with olive leaves on a white background. FAB pattern . . . I love the ruffled cap sleeves. A CLASSIC look, indeed, never going “out of style.” THANKS for sharing. Sarah in Minneapolis

    1. Thank you Nicole!
      It’s great for someone like me that usually only sews once or twice a week (it’s great to see what I could actually accomplish if I sew daily), but you are the “Sewing Queen” – no need to motivate for daily sewing🙂
      And adult sewing looks far too much fun (feeling tempted …)

    1. Obrigada Carla! Fiquei completamente rendida às linhas deste vestido (apesar de já ter feito imensos dentro deste género, não consigo resistir a mais um), mas ela ainda não está convencida – não gosta das cores. O que me vale, é o tecido ser super leve e o modelo perfeito para dias quentes – quando o calor aperta …

  3. This dress is lovely (Citronille Rosamee), as are all your clothes. I sewed this up in a size 4 but found the neck opening to be a bit tight. I followed all the seam allowances and instructions to the letter, and wondered if you had made any modifications at all to your dress? The dress itself is easy to make and I would love to make more, but would like your comments.

    1. Hi Denise, this one is a size 6 and the fit is perfect on my girl (but not much room to grow). I didn’t made any adjustments to the original pattern, but I agree that the neckline is a bit higher/closer in this pattern than in other Citronille patterns (could it be because this pattern was intended as a fall pattern?). If you have the Agnes blouse (also from Citronille) maybe you could adjust the neckline (the one on the Agnes is quite comfy on my girl – she usually wears a collar blouse beneath and the neckline has enough ease).

      1. Thank you Ana Sofia, I have been wanting an excuse to get the Agnes pattern, so this may well be it! Cheers, Denise

      2. Thank you Denise – it’s actually one of my favorite (and most-used) blouse patterns. I currently have a couple of new versions in the pipeline!

Comments are closed.