Sewing · Sewing for Miss M

A perfect sundress

Summer holiday is almost here (at least for us) …

We still have a few working days ahead of us, but within a few days, we’ll be enjoying a couple of weeks as a family making the most of these days together🙂

So, I’ve been busy sewing a few extra things that are “truly necessary” when packing for a summer holiday: sundresses, tops and shorts have been taking most of my sewing time (ops, nights).

Recently, Children’s Corner released a new sundress pattern – Katina – and I knew this would be a perfect addition to my current list. It arrived a few days ago and I couldn’t wait to start sewing it🙂

The Katina is an improved version of a previous Children’s Corner pattern – a smocked full skirted sundress. While the older version was lovely, my smocking skills are still a bit “wonky”, so the new pattern which also includes a gathered version and that was exactly what I was looking for.

CC Katina Liberty Wiltshire#5

Although Katina is rated as expert level, I assume that refers to the smocked version, because the gathered version was rather simple to sew.

The pattern includes pattern pieces for the yokes and straps and measurements for cutting the skirt. There’s no zippers and no buttonholes, so I just needed to take some time to add the piping and gather the skirt panels. The construction was quite simple and effective.

CC Katina Liberty Wiltshire#1

 

My eyes were set on the rather vibrant Wiltshire print from Liberty (after labeling my last choice as “fall only”, my girl was truly pleased with my option), but I hesitated a bit because I didn’t have enough yardage to make the skirt panels as full as the pattern instructs (I was about 3 inches short).

Liberty Wiltshire in RedFinally, I was glad I took the plunge – the sundress still looked full enough and looks lovely and perfect for our current hot summer days (and hopefully the ones we’ll be having soon).

CC Katina Liberty Wiltshire#4

I’m not sure if the pictures make justice to this Liberty print (another eBay auction), but it looks rather lovely in real life (and it’s perfect for climbing trees …).

The last sundress I made her, was worn for 3 years – starting as a dress and ending as a top, and to be honest I hope this will last her as longer🙂

CC Katina Liberty Wiltshire#3

I love everything about it and I can’t wait to make a smocked version.

Yes, it will take me some time, but I will do it for sure. The smocked instructions included in the pattern look rather comprehensive and I’m confident I’ll be able to follow them.

Seriously, what’s not to love about sundresses?

Happy sewing,

xx Ana Sofia

 

13 thoughts on “A perfect sundress

  1. AS USUAL, ANA SOFIA, YOU’VE SEWN A LOVELY SUNDRESS TO ADD TO YOUR LITTLE GIRL’S SUMMER WARDROBE! Oh my, lovely LIBERTY OF LONDON fabric– fuchsia, red & pink berries with navy blue leaves on a white background. Every Liberty print is lovely! I have 2 Liberty gathered skirts I bought in London, June 1978 (when I was single)- -what? 36 years ago. Although I don’t wear them I could NOT donate, so I may cut up for scarves or a tote bag. “Katina” pattern, as you stated, is a simple. Seems such a classic style. Can your daughter wear this with a short or long-sleeved T-shirt in cooler weather? Thanks for sharing. Sarah in Minneapolis

    1. Thank you Melanie. She loves them when the weather gets this hot (and tana law or voile) are just perfect to keep you cooler under the sun🙂

    1. It’s lovely and looks so much better in real life (the photos don’t make justice to it). It’s such a classic Liberty print and I’m so glad I managed to pick a timeless pattern for using it🙂

Comments are closed.