Sewing for Miss M

Family Reunion Blues

When I buy a new pattern I usually have a good idea of the fabric (down to the collection name and print) that I want to use for it.

Often, I earmark a couple of different options for the same pattern. Which obviously is not a bad thing, because it provides me with the opportunity (i.e. justification) to sew the pattern more than once (which, as you know, I don’t mind. At all).

And sometimes the “right” fabric/print for the dress is exactly the one the designer choose to introduce it 🙂

That was what happen with the Oliver+S Family Reunion dress – I just felt in love with the blue version made from the Modern Workskop collection by Liesl Gibson.

Obviously, I never managed to find that particular print anywhere (I did sew a pink blouse version) so finally this year (almost 3 years after the original pattern was first published) I came across a print (Liberty Capel in Blue) that I consider a good option (funny, how a Liberty print can actually be rated as a “second choice” ...).

There’s not much I can say about this pattern, that hasn’t been said before by many others (and myself): it has a lovely shape and although it can’t be rated as a “fast sewing” it’s definitely worth the time.
As with all Oliver+S instructions every step is clearly explained and the minute the pintucks are set, the dress is almost finished🙂

Family Reunion Blue Capel Liberty#5

Of course, I’m totally partial on these pintucks, because I actually like to sew them, but there more lovely details to capture your attention to this dress (or blouse), like the topstitched hem (which don’t really show very well in my version) and the round neckline (that sits so nice on my girl).

I made a size 6 for my daughter (she’s 6 and 1/2 years) and, hopefully, it will still be wearable next summer.

We both love the color and the softness of the Liberty tana lawn makes it so perfect to wear when the sun is shinning🙂

Family Reunion Blue Capel Liberty#1

On a side note, don’t you just love my recent discovery? A William Morris exhibition in our favorite garden, how cool is that? (I could spend hours reading on those benches).

PS: I’m sure most of you already know the news, but for those who missed it, Oliver+S is having a 50% summer sale on all their paper patterns (until 15th August). You might want to take a closer look 🙂

Happy sewing,

xx Ana Sofia

 

 

 

12 thoughts on “Family Reunion Blues

    1. Matching fabrics and patterns is rather fun, but I agree, you do have to keep it flexible – especially when “little ones” get involved🙂

    1. It took me forever to find a good alternative for the original fabric.
      I love this dress on her (it’s so perfect and beautiful in real life)🙂

  1. Shoot! Wish I would have read this post earlier, and could have taken advantage of the sale. Your family reunion dress is adorable as always.

Comments are closed.