Sewing · Sewing for Miss M

Easy summer sewing :)

As mentioned in a previous post, we still have a few weeks before the kids go back to school but summer sewing is officially over by now.

Therefore, and before fall settles in, I’ll be showing a few of my latest summer projects.

This summer, and as per my girl’s requests, a couple of sundresses were made🙂

This one, from the book “Intemporels pour Enfants“, was such a quick project … I did use a Liberty print that was almost to impossible to photograph (Lillian’s Berries), but it’s so utterly sweet🙂

Easy sundress Lillian Berry Liberty#1

By definition, a sundress is a ” a light loose sleeveless summer dress with a wide neckline and thin shoulder straps that expose the arms and shoulders“. And sewing-wise, a sundress is probably one of the simplest project, one can tackle. My version included 3 buttons at the back, but one can easily skip these due to the shoulder straps. 

.One of the things I love more about sundresses, besides being so easy to make, is the fact that they can really last a couple of seasons.

Easy sundress Lillian Berry Liberty#2

The last version of this pattern was made 3-years ago:) It was worn as a sundress and later, as a breezy summer top. Great right?

Need more inspiration for starting your version?

Well, just check the links bellow (some of my favorites and that would look so perfect for the last days of summer and early fall, with long sleeves and a cardigan):

Saudade Sundress by Straight Grain (free pattern)

Popover Sundress by Oliver + S (free pattern)

Summer Picnic Dress by The Cottage Mama (free pattern)

Katina Sundress by The Children’s Corner (my version was posted here)

PS: If you wish to share your favorite Sundress pattern, just add it to the comments bellow. I will be happy to add it to the above list later.

Happy sewing,

xo, Ana Sofia

 

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “Easy summer sewing :)

  1. Sundresses are the best! And I love the one you made, Sofia!
    I’ve sewn several times O+S sundress and loved it. I have to try An’s pattern next time…

    1. She loves sundresses when the weather gets really hot and humid – this one was a favorite for school🙂
      I also did the one for O+S a couple of times (your jumper version is one of my all-time favorites), and yes, An’s pattern is definitively on my list🙂

  2. I really love the sundress you made in that Liberty print, Ana Sofia! I’m really going to miss making sundresses in the next months. And Norah is missing them too – when I ask her what she would like to wear today, she always asks, ‘Is it sundress weather today?’ 🙂

    Thank you for referring to my Saudade pattern❤

    1. There have been quite a few “sundress weather days” around here lately (I’m so looking forward to some cooler days), but these are both fun and easy to sew so I’m not really complaining🙂
      Yet, this will give me the opportunity to sew your Saudade dress soon🙂

Comments are closed.