Sewing for Miss M · Sewing Series

KCW – Twill and starts

In case you missed it in my last post, KCW is back🙂

And that means, I’m once again struggling sewing, taking photos (the most challenging part) and posting about it, all in the few daylight hours I have left when my kids return from school🙂

So, this week will be about not raising your expectations too high – a bit of storytelling as well ;-)

Today’s outfit is actually made of 2 pieces – a blouse that was actually made for KCW and a skirt that was finished a couple of weeks ago.

I didn’t find the time to sew the shorts I had planned (matching outfits in KCW, who was I kidding?), but I love the way these two look together.

OliverandS Hopscotch Skirt and Citronille blouse

The blouse is a new Citronille pattern, Myrantine, which I loved the minute I saw it, mainly because of the lovely ruffle collar (the pattern also includes a non-collar version) which, obviously, is my favorite part of this pattern.

This pattern is quite simple to sew – there are no facings and it closes with a couple of buttons in the back. The ruffle collar is attached with a bias neckband and the outcome is beautifully finished.

OliverandS Hopscotch Skirt and Citronille blouse#2

Although I can highly recommend this pattern, I wasn’t very pleased with my fabric choice.

The fabric was quite a nightmare to sew with, it wrinkles a lot and it’s not as soft as I imagine it would be (yes, online shopping sometimes can be tricky). I’m actually a bit picky when it comes to fabric, and I should have known better.

I do love the stars print and the soft grey colors😉

As for the skirt, which has already been worn for a few weeks, it’s the Hopscotch skirt from Oliver+S made in a lovely coral/peach twill from RK. It was my first time sewing this skirt in twill and I really love the way it looks.

Just for fun, we (me and my girl) selected some wood buttons stitched with matching thread (can you spot the soft gathering at the waist? Love it!).

OliverandS Hopscotch Skirt_7

This fabric has the perfect height for those early days of fall (and our mild winters) and the color has been more versatile than I initially though it would be.

OliverandS Hopscotch Skirt

It pairs quite well with so many pieces from her wardrobe.

What are your plans for KCW Sewing?

0314-300-bear

PS. Don’t forget to check the I (Heart) Marcel Marlier Give-away here (you need to click in the button of the page). The prizes are amazing!

Happy sewing,

Ana Sofia

19 thoughts on “KCW – Twill and starts

  1. The blouse is lovely – it hits that perfect spot between fancy and casual.

    I have a shortened KCW because we’re heading away at the end of the week. I’ve finished 3 items in two days (I’m in Australia and Tuesday is winding down), though, and managed to photograph and blog two of them – next is some ‘Where’s Spot’ inspired shorts . . .

  2. I have this skirt pattern and still haven’t used it yet, although I bought it a year ago!! I have to get to it soon!! I love the red colour:)

  3. LOVELY GIRL’S OUTFIT: grey tiny stars fabric for a blouse with a ruffled neckline & gathered button-up-the-front coral twill skirt. Both separates seem so versatile to coordinate with other pants/skirts and tops/blouses. THANKS for sharing. I love to see what you have sewn and follow your blog, Ana Sofia. Sarah in Minneapolis

Comments are closed.