Sewing · Sewing for Miss M · Sewing Series

The little Prince(ss)

“And now here is my secret, a very simple secret: It is only with the heart that one can see rightly; what is essential is invisible to the eye.”
Antoine de Saint-Exupéry, The Little Prince

Littleprince

I couldn’t sew everything I had planned for this KCW (again, I was over-ambitious) – there are still so much in my list, but sewing time is always limited around here.

This blouse was probably my first pick for this challenge and as usual it was finished in the wee hours of the night.

When I got this fabric I immediately though about The Little Prince – another of my favorite stories and one that, in my opinion, should not be limited to children (in fact, one might start reading at a younger age, but will understand it much better later in life).

DSC_1426

If you follow me here, you are already well-acquainted with this pattern (Agnes blouse by Citronille). This is a size 6 and, again, I skipped the smocking.

There’s not much I could add about this blouse pattern as I’ve done quite a few last season (not that I’m counting and I can’t promise this will be my last for this season).

The good news is that I don’t need to look at the instructions to sew it and it does come together pretty quickly (even with french seams).

DSC_1128

I love the fit on my girl (always did) and although she’s now starting to “help me” selecting patterns and fabrics, I’m glad we’re still sharing the same taste (both in patterns and fabrics).

(not quite sure if you can recall it, but I used the same print, in a different colorway here. Just in case there’s any doubts about my tendency for picking the same prints over and over again).

DSC_1400

It does make sewing for he so much easier🙂

“All grown-ups were once children… but only few of them remember it.”
― Antoine de Saint-Exupéry, The Little Prince

DSC_1421

So there you have: my KCW 2014 final project. A true and tested pattern with one of my favorite Liberty prints.

Thank you so much for visiting me and for your lovely comments (within the next couple of days, I’ll find some time to reply to all of you. Thank you so much! It does mean a lot to me).

Happy sewing!

Ana Sofia

0314-300-bear

 

27 thoughts on “The little Prince(ss)

    1. Obrigada Maria! The one she’s holding belonged to her older brother. It’s her turn to read it now (she keeps a selection next to her bed and reads a bit every night. She has quite an eclectic selection of titles, if I might add)

    1. Eu sou um pouco suspeita, porque tenho usado esta pattern até à exaustão (acho que o inverno passado tive de a esconder para não fazer mais. Demorei séculos a encontrá-la para fazer esta túnica, lol).
      O tecido é lindissímo – fiquei com imensa pena de não ter o suficiente para fazer uma blusa para mim (assim, ficou ela a ganhar)🙂

  1. My children watch this movie every week, they love it especially my son. I can feel the Little Prince’s atmosphere when I saw your fabric, Ana🙂

      1. Obrigada Sara! Acho que este é o meu molde favorito de túnica para ela (e faz-se mesmo num instante).
        PS. Percebi logo a parte da bicicleta😉

    1. Obrigada Inês! De inicio achei que podia ser um pouco arrapazado, mas como ela não é fã de rosa para a roupa do dia-a-dia (só mesmo para dormir e para ocasiões especiais), arrisquei🙂

  2. Ahhhh, Liberty e Citronille, não dá para errar, existem certas coisas na vida que ficam perfeitas juntas❤
    Lindo, cativaste-me e agora levo sempre um bocadinho de ti comigo😉

  3. LOVELY ‘STARS’ PRINT FABRIC (Liberty of London fine cotton) FOR THIS BLOUSE, ANA SOFIA. I agree with many of the comments made — this print ties in perfectly with The Little Prince book. THANKS for sharing. Sarah in Minneapolis, MN USA

  4. Your blog is one I’ve recently found through Lezette’s Children’s Corner facebook page, and I’ve so enjoyed seeing your work. I had never heard of Citronille patterns either, and I have fallen in love with several of them after following your link. However, I only speak English and the ones I’m most interested in aren’t available in English. Do you think I’d be able to follow the directions based solely on illustrations? I’ve been sewing for about 30 years. I look forward to seeing more of your sewing!🙂

    1. Thank you so much for your sweet comment (I love Children’s Corner patterns so much)!
      Unfortunately my favorite Citronille patterns are not available in English as well, so I’ve only used the french versions😦
      As I can understand French, I don’t find them very difficult to follow. Nevertheless, the instructions are not very detailed and one is expected to understand the basics (which obviously you do) but most of the steps include illustrations that are easy to follow. I’ve shared a picture here of Citronille’s Appoline instructions (https://flic.kr/p/8bcnXj) that shows you what to expect. I hope it helps🙂 Nevertheless, if you need any help with the translation, just send me a message and I’ll be happy to help you🙂

    1. Obrigada Magda! Que tema maravilhoso (foi o tema do 1º aniversário do meu afilhado e ficou tão giro). Não tenho a certeza se me sobrou algum pedacinho deste tecido (mas vou verificar e já sei a quem enviar😉

Comments are closed.