Sewing

Lotta skirt: pattern tour

I have a confession: the minute I spotted the Lotta skirt I knew I needed to sew it for my girl, so when I got to test it I was so happy (to say the least)🙂

It’s not my first time sewing a Compagnie M’s pattern – the Mara blouse is a favorite around here and both the Louisa and the Lotta dresses are on my to-sew list.

It took me less than a second to pick a fabric for my version – I had bought this lovely print in the end of the summer (from here and originally intended for another project that never happened) and I knew immediately it would be perfect for the Lotta skirt.

Lotta skirt#2

Knowing Marte’s patterns, I was confident of the fit on my girl so this was actually a quick sew – no major adjustments were needed and the fit was spot-on on my girl.

The Lotta skirt has a hidden zipper and button elastic at the back (easy to adjust to your child) and the most lovely gathers at the front. The front gathers are my second favorite feature of this skirt.

The first ? The folded front pockets – absolutely darling, right?

Lotta skirt#6

I didn’t have enough yardage to match the front and back panels, but for once I didn’t mind. At least I was able to center the front waistband🙂

I suppose there’s no need for me to add, how happy my girl was with her new skirt – I’m guessing it’s her current favorite (you can’t tell by these pictures, but it was actually raining when we took them and she couldn’t care less!).

Lotta skirt#3

If you’re not familiar with Marte’s instructions, you’ll extremely pleased with the Lotta skirt (if you are, you already know how great these are).

The pdf pattern includes detailed step-by-step instruction and pattern pieces with and without seam allowances (you can choose which option works best for you).

Lotta skirt#4

 

I did mentioned that the Lotta skirt is avaliable in teens and women sizes? Well, I have an adult version of this skirt currently in the works (for me). I wish I had it finished in time for this post, but sewing for myself is always postponed. Hopefully I’ll show it soon🙂

Lotta skirt#5

Both versions of the Lotta Skirt are avaliable in Compagnie M shop. Each pattern costs 7 Euros and you receive a 10% discount with these codes:

GIRLS (size ranges from 1 year to  10 years): lotta-girls-10

WOMEN (teens and women sizes 34 to 46): lotta-women-teens-10.

Both codes are valid till the end of the tour (which actually ends tomorrow).

Lotta skirt#1

Happy sewing,

Ana Sofia

20 thoughts on “Lotta skirt: pattern tour

  1. Realmente esse tipo de tecido nao e muito habitual :-)… Mas gosto muito! E a Maria deve ter adorado! Can’t wait to see your skirt!

    1. Ando a evitar costurar com tecidos de patchwork, mas fiquei apaixonada por este motivo. Claro que demorei meses até encontrar o projecto perfeito, mas também gosto imenso do resultado (e como não tem rosa nem cores garridas, acaba por ser mais facil de usar)🙂

  2. I agree with you Sofia, the first thing catch my eyes from this pattern was also the pocket! Like your choice of fabric too, so cute. Now, I’m waiting for the grown up version of skirt!🙂

  3. Ana Sofia esta falda es sencilla pero muy linda!…esos bolsillos son una pasada … verdad???.
    Si me permites igual te copio el conjunto entero pq creo que tu hija esta guapisima con este conjunto ….!!!
    Y me imagino a mi princesa igual de bonita……me tengo que lanzar a coser una falda asi de linda!!.
    Besitos guapa

Comments are closed.