Sewing for Miss M

Pink Winter Jacket

I wish I had a better excuse for the lack of activity here, but the fact is that more often than not, my sewing projects are quite “ordinary” and lack the “wow” factor.

I’m quite practical in my sewing (as with everything else, to be honest) and winter sewing seems to suffer the most from it. Usually I look for practical designs and fabrics that withstand the everyday wear. Plain colors and natural materials are always on top of my list.

The Oliver+S School Days Jacket Sew-along was held in the beginning of November, and although I did managed to sew my girl’s new winter jacket during the sew-along week, I never managed to post about it.

School days#3

Every since this pattern was released, it has become my go-to-winter jacket pattern, for both my boys and my girl. Usually, I can get away with sewing one (for each child, of course) every 2 years, mainly because I always sew one size above …

This fully-lined hooded jacket can look a bit scary when you first look at it, but I can ensure you that it’s not difficult at all – most of the sewing is done in straight lines and, because it’s fully-lined, there’s no exposed seams.

However, it does take some time – not your typical 2 hours-sewing project, but in my opinion the final result is totally worth it: The final jacket looks rather professional.

Usually the most complicated part of sewing a winter jacket is selecting the fabric. Fortunately (or not) I purchased this pink wool on stock-out sale a few years ago, so it was the obvious option. I won’t lie to you – my girl didn’t approved this “pink” (too much pink) but after it was completed she said it looked “nice”.

I used a soft viyella (pink dots) for the lining (she did like the dotted lining).

School days#2

As usual, Oliver+S patterns delivered a great winter jacket/coat pattern for everyday wear.

I will need to sew her a more formal winter coat, but this one is perfect for school and for most of outside activities.

Because our winters are usually mild (no snow and no bellow-zero temps), I didn’t add the removable quilted lining. However, I do recommend adding snaps for closing as well, especially if you use leather and wood toggles like I did.

School days#1

After almost one-month in the waiting, the jacket was finally worn outside this weekend (the weather had been quite nice so far) and, despite the (pink), she loved it: it’s cozy, warm, soft and gets lots of attention.

That always makes my day! Especially because I’m expecting her to wear this jacket next year as well😉

Happy sewing,

Ana Sofia

32 thoughts on “Pink Winter Jacket

  1. Lindo e impecável como sempre! Adoro! Concordo com a dificuldade na escolha do tecido.. eu ainda não fiz porque ainda não consegui encontrar “o” tecido!😉

    1. Para mim o mais complicado é sempre encontrar o tecido “certo”. Eu acho que teria preferido algo mais “pesado” mas este até resultou bastante bem – e com o forro em vaiela até ficou quente q.b.😉

  2. I personally like clothes that are simple and straight forward. I do not usually like clothes that take away from the child. It is a lovely coat and as usual sewn beautifully.

  3. The coat is splendid! My Sarah would love the colors of this one for sure. The toggles are just perfect for the coats color too.

    1. She wasn’t sure at first Sharon (she’s not a huge fan of pink. I’m more into it), but as soon as it was ready, she loved it🙂 And it’s been worn ever since (bonus).

    1. Obrigada Patrícia! Embora confesse que às vezes gostava de ser mais “ousada” nas costuras (mas o meu lado prático acaba sempre por levar a melhor. A roupa é mesmo para vestir no dia-a-dia e não apenas para o blog).

  4. Lovely sewing Ana Sofia. I agree that while it’s not difficult, as a pattern it’s slow going but ever so rewarding in the end. Yours looks very professional. I’m always buying wool for this pattern, I just don’t get around to making it!🙂
    you’ve provided some great inspiration here!

  5. Ficou fantástico, Ana Sofia, ficou absolutamente impecável! E adoro a cor. Fiquei cheia de vontade de fazer casacos para os meus rapazes! Mas será que consigo? E ficarão suficientemente quentes para o Inverno neozelandês?…

    1. Obrigada Constança! Para dizer a verdade, não é nada complicado de fazer (até pode ser um pouco aborrecido, pois é quase tudo costuras a direito). O mais complicado (para mim, claro!) é encontrar o tecido certo (é tão dificil encontrar tecido para casacos de criança que resista a lavagens e ao uso continuado). Para esta versão, usei vaiela (com pelinho por dentro) para o forro e ficou bastante quentinho – não sei se será o suficiente para o Inverno na Nova Zelândia, mas o molde tem também a opção para uma “quilted vest” e também já vi quem tenha adicionado mais uma camada de flanela para o tornar mais quentinho.

  6. Its hard to find beautiful girls coats with good materials- this is just beautiful! Love the colour, I have that pattern in my to-make queue, probably for next year. Thanks for sharing!

    1. I usually sew from this pattern every 2 years and I am always on the look for good wool. Because it’s such a basic winter coat, good materials do make all the difference😉 (PS. You really should try it. It’s lovely and looks so professional).

  7. Ana Sofia,

    The jacket is lovely, as are all of your creations and I look forward to seeing what you’ve been working on during the holidays. When I find one of your blog post waiting to be opened, it’s like an unexpected visit from a friend, and nothing could be sweeter. You’ve inspire me to make garments for my granddaughters that will last all the hand-me-down rotations and my daughters are delighted. From my family to yours, Merry, merry Christmas!

    1. Thank you so much for your lovely words, Tamera🙂 You put a huge smile on my face. Thank you so much for reading! Merry Christmas and a happy new year for your family and loved ones!

    1. Obrigada! Por incrivel que pareça não é nada complicado de fazer – são quase tudo costuras a direito. O mais complicado é mesmo traçar o molde e cortar as peças (são imensas). Ah, e claro, escolher o tecido😉

Comments are closed.