Sewing for Miss M

Louisa [a “non-traditional” Christmas dress]

If you sew for the children, and especially for girls, it’s almost impossible not to sew a Christmas dress.

I love to plan a dress for my girl (or several, but who’s counting) to wear on Christmas night and on the several social events that are part of the Christmas season (hence the need for several dresses …) and usually I choose traditional colors and designs (here, here and here), but this year I was looking for something a bit different – the ones I’ve done last year still fit (a bit tight and short, but still wearable) so I was not eager to sew yet another traditional Christmas dress(es).

I ended up sewing 2 versions – both in non-traditional colors and patterns – but I’m still quite happy with the results.

The bonus: I know my girl would still be wearing these after the Christmas season is over (of course, she still wears the traditional ones. With few exceptions, I always sew clothes that could be worn on a daily basis).

For the 1st Christmas dress of the season (I’ll show you the other dress as soon as I managed to get a few pictures), I choose the amazing Louisa dress by Compagnie-M. – I loved this dress the minute I saw it, but because the design is a bit different from my usual style, I was not sure if I could actually love it on my girl.

Obviously, I couldn’t be more wrong – this dress is absolutely darling and I had the best time sewing it. It features 3 different back options (contrast inserts, an horizontal line or a plain back) and can be made with includes long, 3/4 (my option) or shorts sleeves. It also has 3 different options for the lining (I did the fully lined version).

Louisa#1

My only regret was not having the “right” piping for this dress. The vintage style of the dress is quite lovely but the front pockets (stunning, if you ask me) truly needed piping (my fault, obviously).

In order to compensate for the lack of piping, I added two different trims to the sleeves (the trim color is not showing properly in my screen. It’s actually a much better match to the Liberty print).

Louisa#3

For the pocket I used a Liberty print (Ninataylor from the 2013 Fall/Winter collection) and a wool flannel for the dress body (and a slightly lighter version for the lining) and couldn’t be more pleased with my fabric options.

Louisa#4

The Louisa dress closes in the back with an invisible zipper in the back. This dress is super soft and warm enough for our mild winters (it’s currently around 15ºC during the day).

Obviously, I couldn’t get any proper pictures of my girl, but I’m sure you can get the idea.

Louisa#6

The Louisa dress closes in the back with an invisible zipper in the back. This dress is super soft and warm enough for our mild winters (it’s currently around 15ºC during the day).

On the night before Christmas, she will be wearing this dress (with ribbed brown wool tights, not the bright burgundy worn above and velvet ballet flats) and her brothers will be coordinating in chinos, blue oxford shirts and deep-burgundy wool pullovers.

The Louisa dress is actually a quick project and, as usual, Marte’s instructions are very detailed and easy to follow – even for a beginner.

Highly recommended, if I might say so myself🙂

Louisa#5

There will definitely be a summer version🙂

Happy (holiday) sewing,

Ana Sofia

11 thoughts on “Louisa [a “non-traditional” Christmas dress]

  1. This Louisa is amazing! I love the combination of that fabrics you used! Thanks a lot for the sweet blogpost. M

    1. Thank you so much for the amazing pattern Marte!
      I was not sure if grannies would love the “different” dress option, but they were was so impressed with this dress when she wore it on Christmas night😉

  2. Ohhh adoro, adoro, adoro! As cores, as mangas, os botões, a escolha de tecidos! É um molde maravilhoso e eu também estou apaixonada por ele… o teu está maravilhoso Ana!🙂❤

    1. O molde é lindissímo Patrícia e o vestido recebeu imensos elogios (eu achava que não iam gostar por fugir um pouco ao tradicional, e acabei por ser surpreendida). Só fiquei com pena de não ter piping a combinar🙂

  3. C’est très joli ! J’ai découvert votre blog il y a peu et c’est toujours avec plaisir que j’admire vos jolies coutures !
    It’s very beautiful ! It’s a pleasure to follow your blog !

    1. Inicialmente pensei apenas em adicionar a renda, mas como tinha uma fita bordeaux a combinar acabei por acrescentar também. Nas fotos as cores não ficaram muito bem, mas ao vivo está mesmo giro!
      E claro, as tuas versões ajudaram-me a decidir na escolha do vestido para a noite de Natal😉

Comments are closed.