Sewing for Miss M

On Coordinating …

Today I’m showing an outfit that almost didn’t make it here.

It was one of my first projects this fall (earlier October) but because it was too hot then to wear it I didn’t take an pictures at the time.

When the weather finally cooled down a bit and my girl finally got to wear it, I didn’t took any pictures (because I forgot these were still to be posted).

So, it took me almost 3 months to finally take any pictures of it – and trust me, by the time these pictures were taken, each piece of this outfit – dress, collar tee and sleeveless vest – had been worn to pieces.

Yet, I really couldn’t miss the chance to post it, because it really reflects the way I (usually) sew for my girl: coordinated pieces that are meant to be layered.

Let me tell how it all began …

It all started with this dress – Mallory by the Children’s Corner – which is a personal favorite. I’ve lost count on the number of versions I’ve made so far and I even purchased the larger sizes when my girl was only wearing the 2 years-size (I was so confident she would be wearing this dress until she was 8 years-old).

DSC_1050

The fit is perfect on her, the pattern is easy enough to sew in one-late night sewing (less than 3 hours) and it actually doesn’t take that much fabric (it is lined, nonetheless).

The fabric is a medium-weight plaid that I got from a local shop (I used about 75 cm for a size 7 dress) and as usual I added a (blue) lace trim from my stash to the front bodice. It adds a bit of interest and makes the dress less formal.

DSC_1048

Obviously, if you sew a sleeveless dress, you need a blouse/top/tee to go with it right?

DSC_1522

I had used the Mattie blouse pattern before, also from Children’s Corner (here) so I new this would be a great pattern for mimic the collar lace tees I bought for my daughter (these are usually a bit expensive, although I usually wait for a sale).  Other than adding a lace trim to the collar, I followed the instructions for the Mattie blouse quite closely.

I sewed two blouses from 1-meter of white knit fabric (size 6). The one above had a slightly smaller lace trim, but the stitching on the collar was not perfect (I need to practice more sewing with knits), so I gave it another try (bellow). This one looks much better but to be honest I should have picked a lace trim with less width (I was sewing from my stash so I had to use what I had), but overall I’m also pretty pleased with the outcome.

If you can access knit fabrics easily (which is something I can’t as my local shops don’t really carry good-quality knits) I would strongly advise you to invest in a basic tee/blouse pattern (so far, I’ve only used Mattie, and I can highly recommend it as it also goes to size 10, but there are more available from other designers which can also be a good option). My girl wears these lace tees with almost everything and I can see a couple of short-sleeve versions in my future.

DSC_1563

And finally, I added a sleeveless vest (a free pattern from France Duval-Stalla, that was a great tip from a couple of sewing friends). The pattern is available in French and goes from 3 months to 6 years.

DSC_1057

Because I was sewing with a furry remnant (again, found at a local shop) I skipped the angel sleeves included in the pattern. Another adjustment I made was sewing the front ties higher in the vest (instead of in the middle of the front pieces). It just makes more sense to me like that.

The lining is a piece of Liberty (in the exact shades of the dress) that also looks great with jeans and so many other pieces from her wardrobe. As an added bonus, this vest is reversible – but obviously my girl prefers to wear it with the furry side out🙂

DSC_1572

Even if your French is a bit rusty, don’t be intimidated by the french instructions, this pattern is quite easy to follow and, if you have some sewing knowledge, you should do fine (I didn’t actually followed the instructions as it is very intuitive to sew). I enlarged the pattern pieces a bit as I assumed the larger size would be a bit short on my girl.

DSC_1559

I love it when she wears handmade from head to toe. And I’m quite lucky because she loves it too😉

Happy sewing,

xo, Ana Sofia

28 thoughts on “On Coordinating …

  1. Ficou um conjunto lindo🙂
    Como parte das minhas resoluções de ano novo, também comprei knit para fazer t-shirts para as minhas crianças. Só ainda não tenho é molde! Estas ficaram muito giras🙂

    1. Obrigada Maria João – se eu conseguisse arranjar mais malhas de qualidade (a bom preços) nas lojas locais, também fazia muito mais. Estas ficaram bem mais em conta do que as que compro na loja (mesmo em saldos)! E fazem-se num abrir e fechar de olhos😉

    1. Oh, you must! There are other similar versions available, but I like the fact that this one is fully-lined and the front bodice has such a nice drape😉

  2. O colete! Ficou o máximo, estava a ver que nunca mais aparecia por aqui!🙂 ainda mais giro que os meus… Acho que a tua filha vai ficar mal habituada Ana, ela está sempre linda com uns vestidos fabulosos…🙂

    1. Obrigada pela partilha Patrícia! Aqui já tinha sido lavado várias vezes (programa de lãs) porque ela não o larga – ainda hoje o levou para a escola debaixo da canadiana rosa. Tenho de lhe fazer outro para a primavera😉
      Ainda no outro dia pensei nisso, mas não sei se terei muito jeito para costurar para uma adolescente (e nem sei se compensa devido ao preço dos tecido). O que vale é que ainda tenho alguns aninhos pela frente😉

      1. Quando ela chegar lá provavelmente vais (ou vamos😉 ) fazer menos mas certamente serão aqueles de que ela se vai lembrar durante mais tempo❤ ahh e claro, vão ser pedidos pormenorizados e altamente exigentes!🙂

  3. À parte os nossos estilos serem bem diferentes, gosto imenso de passar por cá. Acho lindo como o teu estilo é tão marcante e como a tua filha fica sempre com peças que são um mimo. Boa!

    1. Obrigada Magda! Curiosamente, eu também gosto imenso de ver estilos diferentes do meu – e aliás, até me inspiram muito mais, porque me ajudam a pensar “fora da caixa”. Sou assumidamente conservadora no que faço para a minha filha (gosto de roupa que não passa de moda e que não segue modas), mas de vez em quando vou arriscando um pouco mais (viste o Louisa que eu fiz para o Natal? Recebeu imensos elogios e não era nada tradicional).

    1. Thank you Angela. Furry vest are quite fashionable around here (most of her classmates have a similar version) so I knew she would love one as well! The liberty lining is such a beautiful detail and makes all the difference🙂

  4. The lace collars are lovely on the T-shirts, Ana Sofia, and I’d love to try making them (you always inspire me). How do you maintain the stretch needed around the neck when sewing cotton eyelet trim to a knit fabric?

    1. Hi, I didn’t have any issues with this t-shirt as it closes with a buttonhole in the back😉 I made another trial adding a cotton ruffle to a store bought knit and it also worked very well (I will posted it this Friday)🙂

  5. I love those little lace neck tee’s, I always purchased them for the Twins.
    You have inspired me yet again.

    1. Usually I buy these as well, but it’s actually quite easy, quick and cheaper to sew these. The issue is being able to find proper quality knits locally (that don’t cost a fortune).

    1. 🙂 Inês tudo o fazes é super giro! Eu é que tenho esta mania de coordenar as peças que faço – como o tempo de costura é limitado e compro mesmo poucas peças nas lojas, se não combinassem ia ser complicado sairem de casa “apresentáveis”😉

  6. Olá Ana, “tropecei” há pouco tempo no seu blog e fiquei encantada com as suas peças e pensei que o seu gosto era muito o estilo mais clássico português ou espanhol (nessa altura ainda não tinha reparado que era portuguesa! LOL). Agora sigo com regularidade, e engraçado estou agora a fazer este colete, mas como não tenho muita experiência com a costura nem com o francês, estive ontem bastante tempo a decifrar as instruções… Agora acho que já está… (espero eu!).
    Muitos parabéns pelo blog e pelo bom gosto

    1. Olá Tânia! Muito obrigada pelas suas palavras (o blogue começou em Inglês e apesar de ter intenção de o escrever também em Português acabo por nunca o fazer – o tempo não estica). Confesso que para esta versão também não segui as instruções à risca, mas deve ter sido a peça mais usada este Inverno pela minha filha – ela adorou principalmente por ser de pêlinho e muito fofinho🙂

Comments are closed.