Uncategorized

Classic style | Adelaide

During the Christmas break I had the chance to organize both my fabric stash (way out of control, but I’m totally hopeless in this matter) and my sewing pattern’s stash.

I wasn’t surprised to see that my fabric stash is getting a bit out of control (too many cuts and prints  that don’t fit my sewing needs anymore) but it did surprised me the amount of patterns that still need to be sewn – and that are fast approaching the end of their size range (meaning that soon my daughter will outgrown them).

Of course, I needed to start by tackling the patterns (as obviously, the fabric stash won’t get used unless I actually sew from it) and picked Children’s Corner Adelaide first.

Adelaide is a dress pattern featuring a knife pleat on each shoulder that is embellished with three decorative buttons on each side. The dress back opening is under an inverted box pleat at center back. The patterns goes up until size 6, which is exactly my daughter’s age (she will be 7 soon and size 6 clothes are getting tight on her). I purchased this pattern from an online sale several years ago (4?), because I was actually intrigued by the construction of the inverted box pleat at the center back.

CC Adelaide#6

There is a 2-part help video that explains how to construct the placket opening at the back and I watch it so many times (I think I mentioned before how much I love CC videos) that I knew I had to try it (this technique also applied to CC Kathy-Kelly dress, which I also purchased. And yes, still need to try).

CC Adelaide#3

It did took me a while (a couple of years, but who’s counting…) to choose a fabric for this dress – I knew I wanted to try the short-sleeve version but needed a fabric with some weight (to provide some structure for the pleats). That’s why organizing your fabric really helps! This vyella (currently on sale) was such a perfect option – plus, I had a matching blue trim waiting to be used😉

CC Adelaide#7

The dress has a Peter pan collar and puffed sleeves, which are actually quite sweet and perfect for this dress, but my girl is almost 7 (…), so a few mods were needed. Instead of using Adelaide’s sleeves, I used the ones from CC Ruthie (did you know that most collars and sleeves from CC patterns are interchangeable? Great, right?). As for the peter pan collar, I actually sew it and even added the piping, but on the last-minute (and even with everyone’s opinion’s against it), I decided to skip it. I really love the outcome – perfect for my growing girl❤

CC Adelaide#5

Sometimes I feel like I keep showing you exactly the same styles overs and over again, but as much as I would like to convince myself to sew other styles, the true is that what I sew is actually worn a lot and I can’t afford (time and money wise) to sew things that will be tucked away in a closet.

I love vintage patterns (always looking for great finds on eBay or Etsy) but I’m terribly afraid of their sewing instructions (although I’m not as scare as in the beginning, because now I can sew them following my own instructions. Ahaha, almost at least!). Children’s Corner design, especially the older ones like Adelaide, managed to capture the vintage vibe that I love so much, yet their instructions are so easy to follow and the fit is always amazing.

CC Adelaide#2

Unfortunately, I’m not sure if I will be able to sew another Adelaide for my girl (this one has not much room to grow) and I regret not having sewing it earlier – it’s a wonderful dress and it looks adorable on her.

CC Adelaide#1

The dress is not lined, but the instructions very cleverly advise you to use french seams. These are perfect for beautiful insides.

I still have a few Children’s Corner patterns that I need to tackle soon (and some that I still need to post here) and I hope it won’t take me as long to sew as this one.

CC Adelaide#4

Happy sewing,

Ana Sofia

20 thoughts on “Classic style | Adelaide

  1. Adelaide is one of my favourite CC dresses. Love that inverted box pleat on the back. Your version looks really good with short sleeves and minus the collar. Beautiful fabric too and who doesn’t love vyella!

    1. Thank you so much Deb😉 I need to sew more before she actually grows out of this pattern. I seriously, don’t know why it took me so long to try it. I love all the tiny pleats in the front and back of the dress.

    1. Obrigada Patrícia😉 As fotos são péssimas (luz de inverno ao final do dia😦 , mas este vestido entra diretamente para o meu top de favoritos (adoro o estilo vintage/retro nela).

    1. Obrigada Maria João! Pessoalmente, este deve ser um dos vestidos que mais gostei de fazer e que gosto de ver nela (a luz é péssima, mas ao vivo é mesmo um amor).

    1. Comprei o pattern pelo desenho técnico quando comecei a costurar (a foto da capa da versão antiga – a que eu tenho – não é nada inspiradora. A nova versão melhorou imenso) pois adoro este estilo retro, mas demorei imenso a escolher o tecido e trims certos. Claro, que agora fico cheia de pena dela já quase não caber no tamanho maior😦

  2. Ana,

    This is a very pretty dress. No need to explain about using your patterns for multiple projects, though. Good patterns should be used until worn out from pinning, and hopefully for many recipients. Thirty years ago my ballet instructor said that anything worth doing is worth doing twice! I think in sewing we should multiple that rule ten times.

  3. I have managed to acquire the mallory pattern based on your beautiful versions. Can I ask you about your versions? Are the gathered front versions the same pattern with gathered rather than pleated or have you added extra width? Also what have you done at the back: are your double breasted as on the pattern or something different? I am going fabric shopping this week!

    1. Catherine, I found the Mallory pattern through a Flickr friend who sew the most adorable little dresses (I finally took courage and ask her for the pattern name). I’ve been following her tips ever since🙂 The gathered and the pleated versions are made using the original pattern front piece – no added width. As for the double breasted on the back (I never managed to take back photos. Sorry), I remove the part that corresponds to the second line of buttons from both sides – I’ve made some versions with the double buttons (and it does look cute), but it takes much time to button up and my girl likes to do it on her own🙂

      1. Ah thanks for this. I am going to my sewing class tonight. Yes, too will alter the back because I just don’t have enough buttons and I am not confident enough about my ability to making 12 matching button holes!

  4. Ana Sofia, acho que, de todos os vestidos giríssimos que tens feito ao longo dos anos, este é o meu preferido de sempre! O corte é fantástico (retro, sofisticado e feminino, e simultaneamente totalmente age-appropriate), o tecido é lindo e o facto de não teres incluído a gola torna-o ainda mais sofisticado. Parabéns!

Comments are closed.