Sewing for Miss M

Butterfly Blouse and Skirt | KCW 2015

KCW Spring 2015 is over😦

As expected, I didn’t managed to sew anything related with the theme (Wild Things), but I did manage to work on some basic pieces.

For the last months I’ve sew quite a lot for my girl – mostly dresses, and to be honest her closet is full of them (even if a couple of more may be added in the coming months).

At the moment, she needs basics – skirts, shorts (I should be sewing shorts, I really should – she outgrew all of them), pants (in the works) and tops, but other than that she has plenty of clothes to pick from.

After sewing the new Oliver + S Butterfly skirt (to match a top I was sewing for a sew-along) I couldn’t help myself from cutting the Butterfly blouse one day later. I was rather impressed with the skirt pattern (although I really shouldn’t be a surprised as I’ve sewn most of Oliver + S pattern and have nothing but good things to say about them): it was so easy (I would definitely recommend it for a beginner) and probably the faster sewing project I’ve done so far.

Butterfly Skirt#2

The skirt didn’t photograph well (Robert Kaufman in Indigo) but hopefully you can get a better idea of the lovely front pleats (my favorite feature)❤

Butterfly Skirt#3

This skirt is a great basic and it’s actually perfect to mix and match with almost everything. Yet, and because tops are still in need, sewing the Butterfly blouse was pretty obvious🙂

Butterfly Blouse#1

Lately I’ve been letting my girl pick the fabric that I will be using and she loves to be able to actually have a “say” on the process (PS. I do cheat a bit, as she always gets to pick from a range of pre-selected prints … by me). For the Butterfly blouse, she “picked” a Liberty D’Anjo print (I only had 70 cm of this fabric but that was all I needed for this blouse).

Butterfly Blouse and Skirt#4

My girl just turned 7, and I’ve been sewing her size 7 for most patterns. Nevertheless, for the “Butterfly outfit”, I used a size 6 for the skirt (based on her hip measurement) and size 7 for the blouse. I think the fir is great on her – there’s enough room in the skirt (I used a elasticated waist) and the blouse is just right to fit her thought the summer.

Oliver + S patterns run from 6 months to 12 years and are available in both digital and paper versions. I bought the 5-12 years pdf version and I believe I will get a lot of use from these 2 pieces.

Butterfly Blouse and Skirt#3

For the Butterfly blouse I selected view A with ruffled sleeved and made a few minor mods to the original pattern: 1) cut the ruffled sleeves on the fold (no hemming) and 2) hand sew the neck facing and the armhole facings (less puckering). Other than this, I followed the pattern as instructed.

Butterfly Blouse and Skirt#1

Usually, I’m not a huge fan of the peplum detail for little girls (it may be a bit too trendy for me), but this one is quite subtle: it has a soft gathering in the front (the back is plain) which makes it look rather delicate.

Again no “wild things” around here, just a very happy girl (and mama)❤

Butterfly Blouse and Skirt#2

PS: I did sew a dress during KCW. I just need to take some modeled pictures before showing it here😉

Happy sewing,

xo Ana Sofia

12 thoughts on “Butterfly Blouse and Skirt | KCW 2015

  1. LOVE IT! Delicate is the perfect word for this blouse…..and funny you should mention peplum: we’ve never been fans either {this was our first peplum pattern to sew}, but it was subtle enough for us too.

  2. DARLING NEWLY SEWN OUTFIT for your 7-year old girl, oliver + s patterns: “Butterfly skirt and blouse patterns– SO COOL! Lots of mom’s LOVE sewn into these 2 versatile pieces as they coordinate with many others. LOVE the Liberty floral print for the blouse with cute ruffle cap sleeves. THANKS for sharing. Sarah in Minneapolis

  3. We didn’t end up with any wild thing themed clothing either. And we used some Robert Kaufman chambray during KCW, too! And we think you should link up this to our Oliver+S sew along for a chance to win MORE Oliver+S patterns and free fabric also…just saying!

Comments are closed.