Sewing · Sewing for Miss M

Blog tour | Infinite A-line Dress

As usual, life (i.e. work) has been keeping me away from this little space. Sorry😦

Obviously, keeping me away from sewing takes a bit more than that, so … I have another lovely little dress to show you🙂

 Infinite A-line#3

I know, PINK ;)

I wish I could tell that I didn’t purchased this fabric, but I DID! I loved it the minute I saw it in the shop – the print reminded me so much of Liberty Capel (at one third of the price) that I just couldn’t resist it (unfortunately the weight is more similar to a quilting cotton).

Needless to say, as soon as I left the shop, I began wondering what to sew with it!! It had to be a dress, right?

Luckily, I got an e-mail from Bonnie (from the brand new Whisk ‘Em Patterns) later that night. She was ready to launch her new (and first) pattern and invited me to give it a try It was almost as she guessed that I needed a pattern to match my new fabric! Thank you!!

Back to the dress.

When I first opened the pdf file Bonnie send me with her new dress pattern, I gasped. The Infinite A-Line Dress included so many options (three skirt choices, five sleeve options and two pocket styles) and looked so professional (remember, this is Bonnie’s first pattern), that I had a hard time choosing my options.

Unfortunately time was not on my side, so I was obliged to make a choice: Empire waist bodice, flutter sleeves and gathered skirt. I know, pretty obvious choices for me, but in my defense, these make such a dress!

Infinite A-line#4

Adding to the several options, the Infinite A-Line Dress is also really easy to sew – perfect for a beginner that loves/needs a new challenge. I might be sewing the same option over and over again (I too conscious of my sewing habits) but I always love to have options …

This dress runs from 12 months to 8 years, and to be honest my only regret is that my girl is already using size 7😦

I’m so in love with these flutter sleeves. And I love the way they are set to the lined bodice (clever technique and one that I’m sure I’ll be adding to other patterns).

I followed the instructions closely with just a tiny deviation: I added 2 buttons to the back instead of one (yeap, that’s as adventurous as I get with me sewing, lol). Infinite A-line#5

My girl’s verdict: she LOVED the dress (she is not as fond of the print, but I know it will grow on her) and although I’ve been trying to save it for a special family celebration (in a few weeks), she keeps pulling the dress off her closet and wears it as soon as comes home from from school (“just to check if still fits…”).

Infinite A-line#1

It does looks lovely on her, right?

If you’re not convinced by my Pink Infinite A-Line Dress version (I wouldn’t hold it against you), make yourself a favor and check the other lovely Infinite A-Line dress versions made by the other blog tour contributors. I’m sure you’ll love them as much as I did:

Tuesday, May 26: From Whole Cloth (this Chambray version is perfect!)

Saturday, May 30: itstaylormade

Monday, June 1: heatherhalesdesigns

Couldn’t resist one last picture. Love the way the back of the dress looks with these tiny pink flower buttons.

Infinite A-line#2

Thank you so much for the invitation Bonnie❤.

I wish you all the best for your new venture!

Happy sewing,

xo Ana Sofia

14 thoughts on “Blog tour | Infinite A-line Dress

    1. lol, tens razão Rita, mas neste caso, a mãe é bem pior que a filha😉
      O que vale é que o vestido é mesmo giro e as cores fortes estão na moda❤

    1. The Infinite A-line dress is her first pattern (I didn’t knew about them as well). Love this version but I’m hoping to sew the others as well (it includes so many options)😉

  1. ‘Infinite A-Line Dress’ pattern in size 7 sewn in PINK floral cotton for your girl is so LOVELY and looks darling when modeled! The ruffled “flutter” sleeves add PIZZAZZ as they are set into the lined bodice. Lots of LOVE sewn into this winner, as your girl LOVES it! Thanks for sharing. Sarah in Minneapolis

    1. Thank you!
      I am saving it for a summer celebration, but I’m not quite sure if it won’t be too “worn” by then.
      The ruffles are adorable – I want to add them to all her dress now😉

Comments are closed.