@Sewing · Sewing for Miss M

KCW June 2015 | French Sewing

KCW is officially over, yet I still have a couple of outfits to post here (hope that sounds familiar to some of you😉

Remember this picture from earlier last week?

The cute (and I really mean cute) chambray shorts at the bottom are from Papillon&Mandarine (Léon shorts – I have the french version, but there’s an English version available now) and although the shorts were finished one day before the KCW started, I knew I wanted to sew a matching top before posting them here.

Shorts

In my humble opinion, you can paired chambray with most everything and it will always look great!

Yet, I had purchased a small piece of Liberty (Ella and Libby) from eBay and waited until the package arrived at my doorstep on the very last day of KCW.

I was completely smitten by these colors: red, pink, yellow and bits of blue and green. It screams summer, right?

Colombine#1

I’ve lost track on the number of dresses and blouses I made from the lovely Colombine (also from Papilllon&Mandarine and also with an English version already available) and when I saw this tutorial (here) for making a sleeveless Colombine top with added ruffles, I knew it was the perfect summer top!  

Colombine#2

The tutorial (free) is only available in French, but it’s totally doable if you understand the basics and, especially, if you’ve made the Colombine pattern before – the construction for the sleeveless version is a tad bit different, but it’s pretty easy to achieve.

As I didn’t have enought yardage for the entire top, the armhole bias were made using scraps from other print.

Colombine & Leon#2

I wish I had taken better pictures of this outfit on my girl (I love it so much), but with temperatures around 38º C outside at the end of the day, she was definitely not in the mood for modelling😦

Colombine & Leon#1

And yes, just in case you noticed it – she’s holding the camera remote control (hence the slightly blurry pictures).

Trust me, sometimes you really need to know which wars are worth fighting for🙂

Colombine & Leon#4

I almost forgot to mention – both pieces are size 8 (with added lenght for the top).

I can’t believe my “baby girl” has grown this much! Time really does fly …

Happy sewing,

xx Ana Sofia

0315-15sum-button-2

19 thoughts on “KCW June 2015 | French Sewing

  1. Que conjunto giro!! Adoro os moldes (não é novidade!) e as cores, também tenho esse Liberty nessas cores e é lindo, perfeito para o Verão😉
    E sim, o tempo voa…

    1. Obrigada Maria João! Eu também gosto imenso de ambos e só não faço mais os Léon, porque ela “embirra” com os botões na hora de vestir/despir (está sempre cheia de pressa …). O top vou repetir certamente – fica mesmo giro vestido e mesmo com os folhos não fica demasiado infantil😉

    1. I know, I know … She’s always in a rush and I’m the one trying to slow the process (not a chance, obviously)😦
      Shorts and tops are a great option for summer and work very well for all the climbing and jumping involved. I still need to sew a couple more before the season is over.

    1. Este estampado foi escolha minha (ela achou que parecia “antigo”, mas já se converteu, depois de ouvir os elogios na escola) e fiquei fã – acho que é ainda mais giro ao vivo. Os bubble shorts são os preferidos cá em casa, porque ela não gosta nada dos botões (tem sempre imensa pressa e volta e meia, lá me aparece com os botões nos bolsos para eu voltar a coser).

    1. I don’t think it should be allowed, but this girl is always in a rush!
      Now that I think about it, there have always been a pair of chambray shorts in her closet (they do look great with everything).

Comments are closed.