Sewing · Sewing for Miss M

Better later than never | Picnic class shorts

I purchased the Class Picnic Blouse and Shorts pattern from Oliver+S when it was first released (in 2011).

I have since then made an average of 3 Picnic Class blouses from my girl (and a few additional ones as gifts), since then.

Recentely, I took advantdge of a sale and purchased the larger size pattern. However, I kept sewing only the blouse.

I had no interest in sewing the shorts and in fact, I knew that from the start.

I purchased the pattern (twice!) because of the blouse and I didn’t take a second look at the shorts.

Yet, this summer, I needed to add more shorts to my girl’s wardrobe and I started looking around. I was looking for a pattern comfy enough to wear in our (very) hot humid summer weather, age-appropriate and stylish enough to wear in different occasions.

After sewing a few favorites (here and here), which I love, I found myself with the Class Picnic Pattern in my hands (I have the paper version) and (finally) decided to give it a try! Seriously, I so wish I had done it before!!

In my defense, I was raised in the (glorious) 80’s, and this style did ring a few bells (I’m so sure I wore a similar style when I was growing…). Not a fashion style one wishes to revisit, right?

Yet, I have to admit: These shorts are cute! (you may have already spot it here before. I’vet been postponing this post for weeks!).

DSC_1152

I don’t have much to add on Oliver+S instructions: flawless and really easy to follow but I was rather impressed with the clever design. The larger outside facing prevents them from looking like the ones I dreaded so much and if choose your fabric combo well there’s really nothing to fear🙂

DSC_1144

I used a small piece of twill from my stash (a remnant from these Puppet Show shorts) and paired them with an Ice-cream blouse (also from Oliver+S). For the blouse, I used a soft dots print from Heather Ross earlier collections (Lightning Bugs and Other Mysteries). It was one of my first fabric purchases and I finally got the courage to cut it (don’t judge me, I’m sure I’m not alone collecting fabric …). 

DSC_1191

Because I only had 1 yard left, I had to get creative and cut the yoke on the bias.

I think it adds interest, right?

DSC_1188

I’m a bit partial on the Ice-cream blouse – I loved it the minute I saw it and a few years later I still thing it’s a great pattern!

The fact that it has a loose fit makes it perfect for summer weather.

This pattern also includes a dress version (a color blocking version is stunning), but I find the blouse version more adjusted to her summer wardrobe. It’s so easy to pair with most of the bottoms already in her closet.

DSC_1186

I only have 1 1/2 weeks before my annual sewing hiatus (i.e. summer holidays break without sewing machine) and still so much sewing to do. Wish me luck!

I’ll be back soon.

Happy sewing!

Ana Sofia

12 thoughts on “Better later than never | Picnic class shorts

  1. Classic look for summertime: young girl’s white shorts & red/yellow dots on white for top! Spot on for the diagonally-cut yoke topping the vertical columns of dots on top. Fab Oliver + S pattern. Thanks for sharing.

  2. Love Your posts! Really , its a pleasure read and see your pics . I love this new outfit.Thanks for sharing

  3. What a beautiful summer outfit! I just made those shorts for the first time too (I finished on thursday I think). And I was also like “Why did I wait so long to make these?” I’ve only made the Ice Cream Dress but now I want to try the blouse. The one you made is so inspiring!

    1. 😉
      I made another one in soft denim soon after I finished these shorts – I can actually see quite a few more in her future (they really wear great and are perfect for our hot and humid summer weather).
      I only had enough yardage for making an ice-cream top, but I do love the dress version.

  4. perfect summer outfit! very cute! this makes me want to pull out both of those patterns again, they’re so good together. 🙂

    1. One of my favorite things about O+S patterns (among many others, of course) is the fact that they work so well together – perfect for mix’n’match❤

Comments are closed.