Sewing · Sewing for Miss M

Tip Top Dress | Pattern Testing

There’s a new pattern in town🙂

A couple of weeks ago I was lucky to test the new pattern from the (hugely talented) Celina from Petit à Petit & Family: the Tip Top Tunic & Dress.

This pattern features a  loose-fitting dress (or tunic) perfect for twirling and dancing all day long …

I have to confess it was my first try with one of Celina’s designs and it didn’t disappoint (I did have high expectations after hearing/reading so many great things about her patterns).

The pdf pattern includes detailed step-by-step computer drawn illustrations (not pictures) and sizes range from 6 months to 12 years.   The pattern includes lots of details: different necklines, 3 lengths  – top, tunic or dress, double sleeves (my favorite, although I tested the single sleeve option), hem facings, pockets …

TipTopDress_4

For testing purposes I did the dress option with inseam side pockets and hem facing (I added the little satin bow at the front for practical reasons – I didn’t add a label inside and it will be necessary to tell the front from the back).

Although the pattern is rated for the confident beginner, I’m sure a beginner would be able to tackle some of the versions – the one with elasticized neckline was pretty straight forward (and if you skip the pockets and hem facing, it would be even easier).

TipTopDress_5

Based on my girl measurements I selected the 7/8 years size with no further mods. Based on my girl selection I picked a (loud) Liberty print (Mauvey) which is just perfect for a summer dress, right?

TipTopDress_1

Unfortunately I had some issues with my SD Card and most of my pictures went astray, including the ones for this testing. I did managed to get another set, but, obviously, “someone” was not very willing to do it all again …

TipTopDress_3Therefore, no twirling and dancing is actually shown in this post (grrrr).

Nevertheless, if your girl favors a good twirl, the Tip Top Tunic and Dress might be just what you’re looking for😉

TipTopDress_6

A final note: The Tip Top Tunic and Dress pattern will be on sale at 7$ for 2 weeks (afterwards, it will be priced at 8$).

Happy sewing, everyone (Next on my list: boy’s shorts. Update soon …),

Ana Sofia

8 thoughts on “Tip Top Dress | Pattern Testing

  1. I’m sorry to hear about your SD card, but the pictures you have here are lovely. Your version is so beautiful!

Comments are closed.