Sewing · Sewing for Miss M

Savannah Dress

I made this Savannah dress 10 (ten!!) weeks ago, in the beginning of November when the weather outside was still warm enough to wear it just with a light blouse underneath.

DSC_0310_edited

I was part of The Cottage Mama testing group and to be honest I wasn’t even sure if this dress would get much use around here – my little girl has been requesting more “informal” attires and I was not sure if a dress wouldn’t fit her bill.

It turned out I couldn’t be more mistaken – apparently “dresses made by mum” are still on top of her list and this one has been worn so much since it was made.

I can only show you some pictures I made for the testing group as the poor winter lighting we’re getting right now isn’t suitable for indoor pictures.

The Savannah dress, from The Cottage Mama, is a looser fitting, sleeveless dress with a slightly drop waist skirt that ties with a bow at the upper back. I’ve made several of their patterns before and I’m always amazed by the fit on my girl and attention to detail.

DSC_0290

I mainly sew in the wee hours of the night after a day at work, so this was a great pattern to unwind – no complicated details (no buttonholes, no zipper), flawless instructions and, in the morning, a beautiful dress was ready to be loved.

I love the way you can embellish the front panel and create a different dress every time. Me and my girl had so much fun selecting these trims.

DSC_0308

The Savannah dress includes a broad range of sizes (6 months to 10 years) and it’s perfect for any sewing level. Around here it has become a great wardrobe staple and the sort of dress that actually gets lots of wear – because of its looser fit, it’s actually great for playing and very comfortable to wear (so I’ve been told).

Technical info (for late memory as I keep forgetting the details):

  • Pattern: The Savannah Dress by The Cottage Mama
  • Size made: 8 years (based on my girl’s measurements)
  • Fabrics used: Soft viyella (paisley and blue/white stripes) from my stash plus embellishments – Broderie anglaise and royal blue rick-rack.
  • Mods made: none. Followed the pattern exactly (apart from the trims).

Happy sewing,

xx Ana Sofia

7 thoughts on “Savannah Dress

  1. I love the way you keep your own style in every garment you make. The trims make a simple dress looks gorgeous.🙂

Comments are closed.