Sewing

Blue Rose

Remember the last dress I blogged about it?

Well, the one I’m about to show you was made at the same time (yes, that long …).

The blue floral print was part of my initial fall fabric selection and I knew exactly which pattern I wanted to use.

fall prints

The Rose dress, from Children’s Corner, is a lovely dress with a round yoke that can be made with short or long sleeves. I loved the short sleeves versions I made and I knew I wanted t try a winter version with long sleeves.

CC Rose#1

I’m not yet venturing into monogramming or embroidery (the round yoke is perfect for it), so I added a cotton trim instead – it adds interest and makes it a bit more appropriate for an older girl.

CC Rose#2

The fabric is a soft viyella (from Ratucos) and the lace trim was already in my sewing box (I think I got it from a street fair, but I’m not sure).

This dress only goes up to size 8, which was also one of the reasons why I really wanted to make a version this season. She’s already wearing a size 7!

CC Rose#3

I’m partial on this dress – I adore this sort of dresses on little girls, and because it is not fitted, it’s also very comfortable to wear. For once, I didn’t shorten the hem as I want this to be worn for a long time.

This dress has been heavily worn during the Christmas season with a little cardigan on top and will also transition well into spring.

CC Rose#6

The construction is quite simple and even the round yoke is a pleasure to sew. I’m not quite sure if I would rate it for a beginner but if you’re for a bit of challenge, this might be what you’re looking for.

CC Rose#4

Flawless instructions as usual with Children’s Corner patterns – and my personal favorite for paper patterns – each size is printed separately (you can cut the size you need without ruining the other ones. Bliss).

Technical info

Pattern: Rose dress from Children’s Corner | Paper pattern

Size made: 7 with no mods (pattern ranges from 1 thru 8 years)

Difficulty: Confident Beginner (based on my opinion)

Fabrics used: Lightweight Viyella with added cotton trim

Happy sewing,

xo, Ana Sofia

 

 

17 thoughts on “Blue Rose

  1. I love this style of dress for little girls. What a cute pattern and fabric. By the way, yours is way prettier than the one on the Children’s corner website. I’d buy the pattern based on the one you made.🙂

    1. What a nice thing to say! Thank you❤
      Actually, I usually purchase most patterns based on the technical drawings – sometimes photos don't show the pattern as well. I love their patterns🙂

    1. Thank you so much!
      I really wasn’t expecting she would wear this dress as much as she did (and still does, as spring is a bit late …). It looks so much better in real life🙂

Comments are closed.