Sewing · Sewing for Miss M

Simple grey dress

The great thing about having a late winter – cold has finally arrived (although I’m keeping my fingers crossed that it won’t stay for too long), is that I get to show what I sew back in November (almost 4-months ago) without feeling too bad about it.

Playtime#3

It’s not the first time I sew Oliver+S Playtime dress (I’ve also made a couple of tunics, but the dress is my favorite version of this pattern), but this year I’ve decided to go on a simple route.

I made the dress using a soft grey wool flannel remnant from my local fabric shop and added a tiny Liberty bow at the waist. It was that simple!

Playtime#5

I didn’t made any major adjustments to the pattern, other than using full lining instead of facings and couldn’t be more pleased with the outcome.

No matter how many I made of these dresses, I ended up loving them all – it’s such a versatile pattern and it lends itself to various interpretations and quite an array of styles, that it’s almost impossible to sew it only once.

Playtime#2

There’s not much to add on the quality of Oliver+S instructions (perfect as usual). As for the sizing, and for this particular pattern, I selected a larger size for the bodice and sleeves (went 2 sizes up) and use her measurements for the skirt (I added a couple of inches to the wideness in order to maintain its fullness).

Playtime#1

Seriously, what’s not to love about such a versatile pattern?

On a final note, she’s wearing it with the Swiss dot blouse from the new Citronille book (here).

Technical info

Pattern: Playtime Dress from Oliver and S | digital pattern (pdf)

Size made: 10 for bodice and 8 for skirt, with added wideness (pattern ranges from 6 months to 12 years)

Difficulty: Confident Beginner (based on my opinion)

Fabrics used: Wool flannel with added Liberty bow

Happy sewing,

xo Ana Sofia

7 thoughts on “Simple grey dress

  1. “Less is MORE” — simplicity is seen in this classic young girl’s dress! Pale grey wool flannel fabric is chic using this oliver + s Playtime Dress pattern. Practical idea to completely line the wool dress and add more fabric to the width of the skirt portion. Your choice of a small bow to one side of the empire waist skirt — sewn from a Liberty of London red print — adds PIZZAZZ! You could make more bows & change often as it’d be easy. BRAVO! Ana Sofia, I love to go to your blog to see what’s you’ve sewn for your daughter as I know it’ll be LOVELY with your selection of high quality fabric as well as classic patterns! Thanks for sharing! Sarah in Minneapolis

  2. This would be worn heavily in our home too.
    I find I have to size up for the bodice. I fits fine on but getting little arms in can be a struggle.
    Beautiful

  3. A simplicidade deste vestido tornam-no impecável. Adorei. E ando há tanto tempo sem cá vir que ainda não tinha visto o novo look do blog. Tb gostei muito!!!❤

  4. Beautiful, simple dress! I have sewn this dress 3x as written but would like to know how you lined it, so that hopefully I could do that in the future. Thank you in advance!

Comments are closed.