Sewing

Mori Dress and Top | Elegance & Elephants

I’m sure we’ll still have a few more winter days ahead of us, but I’m already planning (and actually, sewing) for spring.

Obviously, the new Elegance&Elephants pattern, the Mori Dress and Top, was the perfect excuse to get me starting.

Both the Bubble Pocket Shorts and the Bohemian Babydoll dress are among our favorites, so it was not a surprise that E&E new pattern also went to the top of our “wish-list” as soon as I lay eyes on it.

Mori Dress & Top

Althought I’ve made a promise (to myself, which are usually the ones easier to break) to reduce the number of testing I’m involved in, there’s absouletely no way I could resist Heidi’s new pattern. It was love at first sight – and trust me, when I say I was not the only one to fell for it🙂

Mori Top#11The Mori Dress & Top pattern (digital pdf pattern) ranges from 6 months to 8 years and it’s rated for the confident begginer.

In my opinion, if you’re able to sew a basic piece, this pattern will be perfect for you – there are no closures, no buttonholes and no zippers (the dress&top goes easily over your girl’s head with no need for any further adjustements).

Mori Top#21

I admit that the flounces are my favorite feature, but the overall style is really beautiful without looking “too much”.

The pattern construction is quite simple, but just in case you get stuck, there’s a little tutorial for sewing outer bodice to the lining (“burrito” method).

During the testing I managed to make both a top and a dress – just because it was such a simple pattern to sew (I did made a third dress, but failed to take picture of it. I will update this post afterwards).

I did took it very slowly and still managed to complete each piece during my lunch break!

You may add ties to the dress/top in order to get it more fitted in the back.

Unfurtunatelly the weather was not cooperative during the last few weeks and I’ve been also working full-time, which leaves me with almost no time to take pictures with natural light. The photos included in this post were taken in the end of the day with poor lighting, which, of course, don’t do justice to this wonderful pattern.

The Mori dress & top pattern will be on sale at discount price ($8CAD/$5.90USD) using the code “moriday”. This offIt will expire on Wednesday at 7am PST. 

As far as I’m concern this one is a keeper!

Technical info

Pattern: Mori Dress & Top from Elegance and Elephants | digital pattern (pdf)

Size made: 7 – testers version (pattern ranges from 6 months to 8 years)

Difficulty: Confident Beginner

Fabrics used: Dress: Chambray and Liberty piping | Top: Liberty tana lawn

Happy sewing,

xo Ana Sofia

10 thoughts on “Mori Dress and Top | Elegance & Elephants

  1. O primeiro “cheira” a Primavera! Adoro o piping no vestido! Muito giro este modelo, é pena só ir até aos 8, já não dá para a minha sobrinha.

  2. Such a beautiful pattern! It’s at the top of my wish list! I love both of your version, but the first one catched my heart.;)

  3. Manda ca para casa os dois quando deixarem de servir por ai sff…. Lindos!!!!

Comments are closed.