Sewing · Sewing for Miss M

The Allie Dress and Blouse (Children’s Corner pattern)

It’s not actually easy for me to post about Children’s Corner pattern without sounding too repeating. I’ve posted about so many already❤

Children’s Corner patterns have been my favorites ever since they I learned about them (long long ago) and since then I’ve become an avid collector – I picked several from eBay sales and a stock-off from a (now closed) online store. The, I discovered my way into their online store and I can honestly say that I’m the proud owner of most of their currently available patterns. Unfortunately due to time restrictions (lol) I still need to sew almost half of them – I’ll be (sewing) busy for long …

Recently, Children’s Corner updated its portfolio with 2 brand new patterns – Nora knit dress (already posted) and Allie, dress and blouse, both including a new size range – up to 14 years, while keeping all the things I already knew and loved from the previous patterns: detailed step-by-step instructions, unnested pattern pieces (no need to tracing each pattern) and a great fit (always spot on for my girl).

CC Fabrics 2

The Allie dress and blouse is hands-down my favorite (you may remember the Nora’s was/is my girl’s), especially the dress option. I was lucky to get a fabric bundle from the lovely Emily and didn’t even think twice: it was perfect for the Allie dress, a classic shirt-dress with an elastic casing at the waist in a contrasting fabric (although I loved the Liberty Emily’s picked, but girl had other plans for it, so I used another Liberty fat-quarter from my stash).

Allie Dress#5

While featuring a classic dress style, this dress is actually very comfy to wear and perfect for getting dressed in the morning – it buttons up the front!

Allie Dress#6

This style includes 2 sleeve lengths – short and long, both with a ruffle, which I omitted by my girl’s request for this version and also 2 collar styles – pointed and peter pan.

Allie Dress#2

I love the way the waistband casing allows us to play with our favorite prints.

Allie Dress#7

While my girl was not too keen on the dress version (she’s going through a non-dress phase, which I’m hoping it’s temporary), she was definitely smitten by the blouse version – ruffled sleeves and peter pan collar, included.

Allie Blouse#6

Plus, it’s pink (which is usually a big-no in her current list) but it does fit her so well.

(note: The pink pinafore is a tunic turned dress from a Japanese sewing book made in light denim).

Allie Blouse#5

Sorry about the mobile photo above – my camera charger is currently missing in action.

Oddly, both versions were quite easy to sew courtesy of the detailed and clever instructions – despite the buttonholes, and the final results were very professional.

Surely I’m not alone, thinking the Allie is the perfect excuse for starting back-to-school sewing?

Happy sewing,

XX Ana Sofia

Technical info

Pattern: Allie’s Dress and Blouse by Children’s Corner | Paper pattern 

Size made: size 8 (pattern sizes range from 1 to 14 years)

Difficulty level: Moderate

Fabrics used: Chambray and Liberty tana lawn

Disclaimer: both the Nora Knit dress and the Allie Dress and Blouse were gifted to me for testing purposes, but as usual all opinions are my own (and my girl’s). 

12 thoughts on “The Allie Dress and Blouse (Children’s Corner pattern)

  1. may I ask you the title of the Japanese sewing book where you found the wonderful pink pinafore? thank you so much

  2. Just lovely! Do you mind sharing what book that the original pattern for the tunic came from?

  3. I am in love with those little ruffled sleeves!!! ACK! So pretty under the little pinafore. I need more Liberty blouses in my daughter’s life.🙂

  4. A no dress phase? We are stuck at a no pants/shorts phase haha I LVOE LOVE LOVE that dress so much! And I completely understand why your girl loves the top. it is so feminine, so delicate.

Comments are closed.