Sewing

Luis & Joana Hoodie

I should blame it on the weather – I don’t handle winters very well, for the unintentional absence from this spot.

Yet, to be honest – it’s just life as usual … Parenting, working and everything in between that leaves me exhausted by the time I put the kids asleep. Sorry!

There’s been so much sewing around here – hopefully I’ll be able to show it all before springtime ūüôā

One of my latest (sewing) ventures was a pattern from a new designer – Susana from SUCO by Susana!

The Luis & Joana Hoodie is her second pattern and I’m obviously very happy for her ‚̧

Susana is a Portuguese designer (yeah!!) and her new pattern is available both in Portuguese and English (digital version) Рcool, right?

Lately, I’ve been trying to “work/listen” to my kid’s preferences before sewing – they love to get¬†involved in the sewing process and¬†it’s actually quite funny to watch their sense of style involve.

Although I do love sewing for my boy(s), there’s not much I can really show here – mostly I sew them pajamas and outerwear and boys don’t really care about modelling sessions.

Still, a comfy hoodie is always on the top of their list, right?

Up to now, I would think twice about sewing a hoodie for my kids!¬†Still the¬†Luis & Joana Hoodie¬†was exactly what I was looking for – it’s a¬†comfortable and relaxed hoodie jacket to wear all year round. And because you’re the one picking the fabrics, you can really sew a casual style or indulge with a more formal/smart version.

I think, my kids picks for their Luis & Joana Hoodie were a true reflection of their “style”:

My boy (who is 10) is rather formal in his clothing (always have been and yes, I do love it!) and¬†insisted on a all-grey hoodie jacket ūüė¶

img_2531

The three-piece hood is lined (also in grey!) and the fit was perfect on him.

img_2532

I used a wool knit and a bit of Liberty trim for the neckbind – He was not impressed with the addition of the Liberty trim, so he only posed with his jacket closed.

img_2527

The girl’s version also reflects my girl style – she picked the most colorful and bold print from my stash and although I was a bit skeptical about the final result, I think it also looks great on her (She loves it!!).

img_2512

I did add a lace trim to the kangaroo pockets (couldn’t help myself) – a bit too cute but still acceptable detail by her book.

img_2514

There’s not much to say about this pattern – the instructions are great (I tested the Portuguese version), the pieces fit very well and although it isn’t¬†labelled as¬†a beginners project, I think it could be a great challenge if you’re willing to give it a try!

Sewing with knits it’s still a bit of a challenge for me, yet this was quite a pleasant sewing (not much unpicking) and the final result made me feel so proud. Both knits were purchased from a local retailer (the floral knit is from Hilco, but at a fraction of its cost) and I was truly impressed with their quality.

img_2513

I have requests for more versions (and I do have a significant amount of knit in my stash that needs to be used …) and I know I will oblige because¬†when your 10-years old boy picks a handmade hoodie to wear to school that’s a good sign, right?

Plus, sewing something a picky pre-teen loves, does makes you feel like you have special sewing powers¬†ūüėČ

 

Happy sewing,

Ana Sofia

Technical info

Patterns: Luis & Joana Hoodie Jacket from SUCO by Susana | digital pattern (pdf download), from 12 months to 12 years 

Sizes made: size 9 for both versions

Difficulty level: Advanced Beginner

Fabrics used: Hilco Knit and Wool Knit from a local shop 

4 thoughts on “Luis & Joana Hoodie

  1. Both versions are perfect! You can be proud your boy wear it for school! It’s a great achievement! I don’t think my girls would wear handmade clothes in a few years ūüė¶

    1. Yes, I know (I don’t think the other boys wear hand made as well)!
      Still, he really loves this hoodie – of course, it helps that he picked the fabric himself and this wool knit is so warm and comfy to wear ūüôā

Comments are closed.