Sewing

Sara’s baby shower

My (sewing) friend Sara just had her 4th baby – a gorgeous baby boy, and that’s a good reason for a sewing celebration ❤

Several bloggers have been planning it (and actually doing the sewing) for quite a while, but, I ran for the “Best Procrastinator” Award (blame it on a chaotic work schedule and after-school activities) and didn’t start sewing until after the baby arrived (like, just a couple of days ago). Ops!!

While I love sewing for girls (dresses are a favorite project!), sewing for boys is quite another story and I always debate with what to sew, what pattern to pick, what fabrics/print to choose. You know, the usual …

Luckily for Sara’s baby, my blogging friends don’t suffer from this condition and she will be surprised by the most adorable baby’s outfits (I had some sneak peeks. It’s all so good!!). Which, considering that this precious baby boy already had lots of lovely pieces, liberated me to pick my favorite baby’s piece: a baby Bubble.

While, I do recognize that a baby bubble is probably not the most practical/modern baby outfit, you can only wear it when you’re this little and it’s soooo adorable!

img_2090

I used a pattern from Children’s Corner – Bobbie, which is a revised version of one that I already had in my stash (more on that later).

img_2103

It was my first time sewing this pattern and I couldn’t love it more – it’s fully lined and it has the option of adding snaps to the leg opening (I didn’t because I ran out of time). It also includes a girl’s version (with leg ruffles), but I’m sure Sara’s baby will prefer this one.

img_2093

I made it in a soft wool, in a beautiful shade of blue, lined with chambray.

img_2089

This pattern – package, instructions and pattern pieces – has been revised recently and I was amazed by the design work it’s been through. Here’s the 2 versions I own.

img_2087

The first version is dated from 2000 and the new version was released in 2016. I love them both and find it so interesting to see the evolution.

img_2088

I hope Sara loves the surprise just as much as we enjoyed preparing it – even if life chores managed to get me a bit late to the party.

You don’t want to miss all the adooorable baby outfits that will be featured today in the blogs bellow. Serious cuteness alert and totally worth a visit!!


As it Seams

By Eva Maria
Craftstorming
Do Guincho
Fairies, Bubbles & Co
Groovy Baby and Mama
Huisjeboompjeboefjes
In a Manner of Sewing
Just Add Fabric
La Folie Sewing Booth
Made by Toya
Miss Castelinhos
Naeh Connection
Needle and Ted
Pienkel
Sewpony
S is for Sewing
Straight Grain

Congratulations for the new baby, Sara!!

 

 

11 thoughts on “Sara’s baby shower

  1. I love the baby bubbles! They are always one of my favorite things for my little ones (I have 6)! I’m sure Sara will love all the handmade loveliness she is recieving 🙂

    1. Thank you so much Erica! I miss sewing baby bubbles – it’s such a pleasant sewing. Nonetheless, I surely can’t beat sewing for 6 babies! That’s such a blessing ❤

    1. Thank you so much Nicole! Baby sewing is so nice – I do miss sewing tiny outfits (luckily for me, there’s always a baby in need of handmade cuddles) ❤

  2. J’adore, c’est magnifique!! Ce patron est une pépite, et désormais tu ne devrais plus te poser la question de savoir ce que tu vas bien pouvoir coudre à un baby boy! ☺️

Comments are closed.