Uncategorized

The Prairie Rose dress – Pattern testing

I was lucky enough to test two Wee Muses Sewing Patterns before (by Anneliese from the Aesthetic Nest), here and here, and it was such an  happy surprise to be able to test the new pattern: The Prairie Rose set.

According to Anneliese’s this pattern was inspired by the strong women who rode horses with the men and defended their homes on the wind blown prairie, but also kept the floors swept, loved a pretty new dress, and laid out a gingham tablecloth for supper.

Nevertheless, and because we live closer to the ocean than the prairie, I was immediately captivated by the Bohemian look of this pattern – I was pretty sure it would make a beautiful set for a picnic by the beach or a walk by the seaside.

Of course, the fact that we’re now heading to winter (it’s chilly outside) doesn’t help, so my idea of a white Prairie Rose set will have to wait a bit more 🙂

So, here’s what I come up with (fabric is a cotton chambray in strawberry):

Prarie dress#5

I got to test the dress version and because this dress was designed with a generous ease, I decided to based the size selection on my girl’s chest measurement – I didn’t wish the dress to be too loose on her since I knew she would want to wear this now (and not when the warmer weather arrives).

As a result, my dress is a little shorter than the original pattern (if the selection is based on the recipient’s height, the dress should hit just bellow the knee).

Prarie dress#7

My favorite part of this dress is the neck ruffle – truly girly and feminine.

Prarie dress#6

To be honest I was a bit concern when I saw the pattern (it does looks so elaborated) and yet, it was such a breeze to make. There are quite a few details (ruffles and elastic casings) but I really shouldn’t be intimidated – Aneeliese’s instructions provide clear, step-by step guidance. Truly a pleasure to sew.

Prarie dress#9

The Prairie Rose Set pattern (pdf instant download) also includes quite a few pieces (which are great wardrobe builders): The Prairie Rose Blouse, The Prairie Rose Dress, The Prairie Rose Maxi Skirt and The Prairie Rose Pants and comes in a wide range of sizes from 18 months to 8 years.

Prarie dress#8

The Prairie Rose Set pattern is now available for purchase and Anneliese is having a Thanksgiving promotion in her Etsy shops for 20% off anything and everything.

Just add discount code THANKS20 through Monday December 1st (here and here).

Happy sewing,

xx Ana Sofia

6 thoughts on “The Prairie Rose dress – Pattern testing

  1. Es una monada!!!
    Es un estilo diferente…que me esta gustando mucho para nuestras niñas que se están haciendo mayores! !.
    El color me encanta. …
    Es un patron muy original! !!!
    Besitos

  2. Cute dress sewn in a lovely color, strawberry! Yes, I also LOVE the neck ruffle! GREAT LOOK for a young girl… versatile dress which seems appropriate for many occasions. Sarah Helene in Minneapolis

  3. What a lovely dress, so cute and so refreshing ! I love the colours and the versatility of the dress; may be nice for a special occasion and for school too, depends what you match it with. Congrats !
    Sylvie from France

Comments are closed.