Sewing for Miss M · Sewing Series

KCW | A Not So Wild Outfit

It’s KCW time again 😉

This season the theme is “Wild Things”! Exciting, right?

I wouldn’t describe my sewing style as Wild, and as I wasn’t planning on adding anything remotely wild to my kid’s wardrobe I reckoned I wouldn’t be joining the fun this time.

Yet, you can add every project to KCW (even the ones that are not related to the proposed theme). You just need to sew for 1-hour a day, every day of the KCW week for your kids. And that I can do!!

So, here’s my not so wild outfit for KCW:

DSC_0649

The blouse is from a BurdaStyle magazine (April issue) and I had it cut for a sew-along proposed by my friend Sonia. The Sew-along happened last week, and although I had everything ready I never managed to find the time to actually sew it.

This blouse (model 135) features butterfly sleeves (very trendy at the moment) and a set of small ruffles at the front. Here’s a technical drawing taken from BurdaStyle website:

bs1504_135m_v

The pattern was not difficult to sew (at all). I really recommend Sonia’s sew-along (even if you don’t understand spanish, the images will help you a lot along the way) but this was a rather easy pattern to sew.

DSC_0651

The most challenging part were the front ruffles (trying to get them aligned), but after these are set, you’re almost done. I used a Geometric Hilco print from my stash (remnant) and although it’s lovely (and surprisingly soft for a quilting cotton), it was impossible to photograph.

DSC_0650

Because the blouse was so easy to complete, I decided that I could easily add up a skirt to match. Oliver+S just released their new Spring 2015 patterns and I knew the Butterfly skirt would be a great match.

This skirt has been rumored to be a very fast sewing, and trust me: that’s so true!!

DSC_0674

The skirt pattern includes only 3 pieces (yes, front, back and front waistband) and it’s seriously one of the fastest sewing projects I’ve made so far! When I finished I had to read the instructions again just to make sure I didn’t skipped any step.

Like the blouse, I also find it impossible to capture the skirt properly. I used a dark chambray from Robert Kaufman and although it looks grey it’s actually blue!

DSC_0664

Because I was also advise the check the hip measurements before choosing a size for this skirt (thank you Ashley and Emily <3) I picked a size bellow (6 years) for my girl and add adjustable elastic for the waistband. The fitting was perfect!

DSC_0660

I’m tempted to sew this skirt using a lighter fabric, although a heavier weight fabric is more suitable to this design (think canvas, denim and home decor fabrics) – the front pleats are adorable, but they actually need some weight to “behave” properly 😉

Summing up, and because these were both very easy projects (the skirt took me less than one hour, including cutting), I would definitely add that the most difficult was really to capture these pieces: Indoor lighting is always bad and at the end of the time is even worst, plus my “model” was only available for 3 (!) photos (she was rushing to do her “homework”).

These were Wild Things!!

DSC_0667

Happy sewing,

xo, Ana Sofia

15 thoughts on “KCW | A Not So Wild Outfit

  1. I also have that Burda and loved that blouse and yours is adorable, the fabric print is so pretty !! Love the butterfly sleeves and ruffles, so girly and the skirt fitting is great 🙂

  2. It’s adorable, and perfectly paired together!!! Your daughter is going to get so much wear from that skirt – it will match almost anything. Great planning on your part…

    YES….that skirt is SUPER fast. We read all the time about how patterns are “quick sews”, but this is the 1st time we’ve actually experienced a “quick sew” for ourselves!! If it is quick for us, it is lightning speed for everyone else :).

  3. Wow! This blouse caught my attention when it was released and it sure is very pretty! I ended up buying a shirt pattern from the Burda April issue and was a bit upset to find that their sewing instructions were all words with no illustrations. (It was my first time to try a Burda download pattern.) It is good to know that Sonia had a sew-along for this and it makes me want to buy this pattern.
    Yes, it perfectly match with the Oliver+s skirt. Ana, I always enjoy seeing what you have sewn!

  4. Oh very sweet! Love the outfit together and I’d been waiting to see details of the butterfly skirt a little better (didn’t test that one!) so thank you!

  5. Não sou muito de folhos, mas gosto muito do contraste com o padrão geométrico do tecido. E fica super gira com a saia!

  6. LOVE the last photo of your daughter modeling a FAB girl’s blouse featuring a ruffled bodice & butterfly sleeves in a unique RED X’d print on a pure white background. The oliver + s patterned light grey skirt is ideal as it’s versatile to coordinate with any color and design fabric top. THANKS for sharing. Sarah in Minneapolis

  7. Oh love this blouse so much!! There was a sew along 2 weeks ago with a Spanish blogger and I ran to buy the Burda to make one for my daughter… BUT it started in a size 4y. Ouch! I really love the fabric you used and the fit in your daughter!!! Awesome awesome awesome!!

  8. 🙂 Yep, I’d be seriously surprised if I saw a large stencilled animal on a T-shirt on this blog! Vive le difference, hey.
    Stunning outfit. the blouse looks gorgeous. I’m not usually a frill person, but those frills are all in the right place and it just works.
    This is probably my favourite version of the Butterfly skirt I’ve seen. I want one just like it for me please!

Comments are closed.