Uncategorized

Thank you | Obrigada

I love to sew for my kids, but last Christmas I had the opportunity to sew for a little girl I knew nothing about.

When my friend Patricia challenged me and other sewing friends if we would be willing to sew for a group of children, we happy said: Yes!. Our aim was to use sewing to make pieces that fit the needs of these children and their mothers.

On a not-so-random selection, the recipient of my sewing endeavor was “Princess R.”, a lovely 1 year-old baby girl.

“Princess R.” and her mother as well as many other girls and their mums are supported by Mums & Kids, a Portuguese charity that provides temporary shelter to children and mothers facing social exclusion (you can read more about it here).

DSC_1174

Sewing is an amazing gift when we sew for our children but it’s truly especial when we sew for others. ❤

It was an honor to sew for “Princess R.”.

DSC_1177

My heart was so full when I stitched these pieces thinking about the little girl and their mother.

My heart was so happy when I saw my own kid’s getting involved in the process – selecting fabrics, picking buttons and providing me with sewing time so that everything could be ready before Christmas.

DSC_1176

I won’t be blogging about the details of these pieces (bellow, I will add the pattern’s names), because the most important message today is for the special persons that make Mum’s & Kids work possible and for the mothers and children that need our help every day of the year.

DSC_1170

Other sewing bloggers involved this initiative:

Pequeno Mundo a 3

House of Estrela

Fairies, Bubbles & Co.

Sew Happy

Do Guincho

Conversas de Hermanas

Made by Sara

Rita Pirolita

Saídos da Concha

I hope “Princess R.” and her mother loved the new clothes. Sewing for this baby girl was my special Christmas gift.

Thank you ❤

Patterns used:

Pinafore dress – Ottobre 1/2009 (also available as individual pattern from Ottobre etsy shop)

Baby ruffle-collar blouse – Ottobre 6/2012 

Corduroy pants – Oliver+S Lullaby Layette Set

(the doll was made using a fabric bought from Ottobre shop that is no longer available).

Thank you for reading 😉

Ana Sofia

12 thoughts on “Thank you | Obrigada

  1. Tudo tão amoroso, como sempre 🙂 A Princesa R. e a sua mãe, com certeza também adoraram 😉

  2. que sorte tiveram estas crianças por receber as tuas roupas sempre impecáveis. temos que fazer isto mais vezes!

  3. Very satisfying t use your time and efforts to help someone in need. Such a kind thing to do. Everything turned out very cute. Any little girl would be happy to receive such cute items.

  4. Ana Sofia, até fico envergonhada quando vejo tudo aquilo que fizeste… tudo com tanto esmero e empenho. És um exemplo para mim! 🙂

  5. Wow, I love sewing as a gift too, but just imagine how delighted someone who doesn’t sew would be to receive clothes like these. It’s like free haute couture for kids. Just beautiful!

Comments are closed.