Sewing · Sewing Series

Easter inspiration – the Verona dress

The fact that this year Easter dress had been picked since late-December, didn’t stop me from considering every new dress pattern as a potential candidate.

Obviously the reason why I need so many Easter dresses is closely related to yet another intriguing fact of life: I can not sew a dress for my girl that is kept in the closet for that long. She actually takes every opportunity to wear a new dress. And, true to be told, I don’t mind a bit …

There’s never such thing as too many dresses (at least, for the moment …).

When Jennifer from Jennuine Designs launched a tester call for the Verona Dress Pattern, I was so happy to be selected. I had seen the technical drawing and was immediately capture by it.

Verona dress#1

If you’re looking for a pattern that includes a vast array of sizes, this one will certainly fit your bill: it runs from newborn to 12 years. Plus, the actual pattern is intended to the beginner sewer: it has no zippers and no buttonholes (the smaller sizes have a button loop in the back for easy dressing). What more could you ask for, right?

Verona dress#5

One of my favorite features is the collar detail – so sweet – allowing a peek-a-boo of the lining fabric. For this version I used a floral print in muted colors (love it!) and plaid seersucker in aqua for the lining. I am absolutely in love with this color combo – it worked so well 🙂

Verona dress#2

And if you still need a bit of guidance, there’s also a video tutorial to demonstrate how to do the bodice construction.

Although the dress skirt is gathered at the waist, the back skirt is gently fitted by the means of an elastic casing.

Verona dress#3

I think this dress if perfect for Easter, and being just a couple of days away, it might actually be the one my girl will be wearing.

Verona dress#6

Or maybe not (I’ll keep you posted …) 😉

Verona dress#4

If you need any further inspiration, do check the lovely dresses included in the Verona Dress Pattern Tester Tour. There are so many beautiful dresses to choose from …

Thank you Jennifer (and congratulations on yet another lovely pattern) ❤

verona-dress_pattern Dress Tour

XX Happy Sewing,

Ana Sofia

22 thoughts on “Easter inspiration – the Verona dress

  1. I love your Verona dress:) After reading your review I just had to buy this pattern- which gives me a reason to buy more fabric! Love your fabric choices!!

    1. Thank you so much Martha! It’s a wonderful pattern (love the neckline) and obviously it fully supports the need for new fabric 😉

    1. I had that floral set aside for some “selfish” sewing, but I’m so glad i used it – it makes a great dress (love the muted colors) 🙂

  2. You must be so sort after for your pattern testing skill. Everything you sew is so elegant and pretty the sales must sky rocket.

    1. Usually I take each pattern testing as a challenge which obviously makes everything so much easier (and truly a pleasure) – although there’s so much work to be done before a pattern is ready (I’m always amazed by the effort many designers put into their creations). I feel quite fortunate for testing so many lovely patterns 😉

  3. Gosto muito de como ficou o vestido e adoro os tecidos e combinação de cores 🙂

    1. Obrigada Maria João 🙂 Eu estava um pouco receosa (até porque estava a guardar o tecido para mim), mas gostei imenso do resultado final (perfeito para uma menina de 7 anos!).

  4. Adoro este molde, já está na minha lista! Dá um ar de princesa sem ser exagerado… 😉 ou seja, dá para a minha filha sem o R me chatear que ela não se consegue mexer… ah ah ah ❤

Comments are closed.