Sewing · Sewing for Miss M · Sewing Series

Moiano Coat – Blog Tour

It might be a bit odd to sew a new coat when summer finally decided to surprised us around here, but considering this particular pattern is from the amazing An from Straight Grain, I suppose that’s all I needed to know , right?

The coat pattern in question is called Moiano and you’ve probably already spotted it in the social media. I’ve seen so many lovely (and quite irresistible) versions that I was not quite sure I could live up to the expectations.

You see, I’ve made almost every (if not all) An’s patterns and they are among my all-time favorites – their patterns always feature such an unique aesthetic and are so well-written, that it’s really a pleasure to sew (and learn) from them. Plus, you actually end up with a professional looking garment that seriously boosts your confidence(and makes you sew more, lol).

The Moiano is an adorable retro style spring/summer coat, but living in the south of Europe,  a spring/summer coat was not on top of my sewing list. Until now, of course …

SG_Moiano#9

Despite the pattern recommendations for using light fabrics, I decided to sew my Moiano version using a grey waterproof fabric. The weather has been acting a bit peculiar around here (lots of rain and cloudy skies) so I took the opportunity to make a (summer) coat that would be actually worn a lot.

I assume (the waterproof fabric) was probably not the best option as it’s actually not light weight (and not stretchy) and made my sewing a bit challenging.

SG_Moiano#10

However, I don’t regret it a bit!

The pattern includes various options (hood/flat collar, buttons/zipper, welt/patch pockets) and details (hem facings, full lining, decorative sleeve tab, back tab).

SG_Moiano#8

I went with the buttons options for closure and the welt pockets. I did skipped the hood drawstring purely due to personal preferences (my girl usually loose them after the first wears, so I decided not to take any risks) and added a loop for hanging the coat – I usually fail to add this and it’s such a useful detail.

SG_Moiano#6

I picked 2 different fabrics for the lining. Liberty for the hood (so in love with these colors, right now) and red striped seersucker for the bodice and sleeve lining.

Here’s a detail of the lining hem facing – clever and so neat!

SG_Moiano#7

It was really warm outside the day we took pictures of the coat but luckily my girl was happy to “model” her new coat around.

The fit was spot on – I made a size 8 with no mods, and the waterproof fabric (here) turned out to be absolutely perfect for the style I was looking for.

SG_Moiano#1

The Moiano pattern includes sizes 1 to 12 years and it’s available both as paper and digital versions.

This project was still a very straight-forward sewing and I fell in love with the final result (as expected).

SG_Moiano#3

Honestly, I don’t think this is a difficult pattern to tackle. The step-by-step instructions are quite detailed and because it’s fully lined there’s no need to use a serger to get a perfectly finished coat (i.e. with no exposed seams).

It does take some time, but the result is definitely worth it.

You can use the code MOIANOTOUR10 to get a 10% off the Moiano pattern in the Straight Grain shop.

SG_Moiano#5

And don’t forget to check all the amazing Moainos made for these (super) talented ladies for additional inspiration. There are so many beautiful versions to be inspired by …

Petrol & Mint | Kaatjenaaisels | sewpony | Metoezie

Bel’Etoile | Lokakid | Our Chez Nous | La Modista de Atenea | A Naais ID

S is for Sewing | Made by Sara | Creative Needle and Threads | Stannel

Noortjeprullemie | Bellevi | Just Add Fabric | Emma & Mona

Leven Met Liv | Liesellove | My Minnie Mie

SG_Moiano#4

Thank you so much An!

Happy sewing,

XX Ana Sofia

Technical info

Pattern: Moiano Coat from Straight Grain | Digital and Paper pattern 

Size made: size 8 (pattern sizes range from 1 to 12 years)

Difficulty level: (Confident) Beginner

Fabrics used: Waterproof fabric, Liberty Cotton Lawn and Seersucker 

19 thoughts on “Moiano Coat – Blog Tour

    1. 😉
      I think it’s the first rain coat she has – she was quite pleased with it!
      It was a perfect addition to her wardrobe ❤

    1. I only had enough Liberty for the hood, but I love the way it makes the coat a bit more special.
      The pattern is truly beautiful – timeless and very professional looking.
      It was a great addition to her wardrobe 🙂

  1. Wooowww.. it’s absolutely pefect! The fabric is made for this coat.. I have the pattern at the top of my sewing list, but I’m afraid I must wait for autunm. I live in the south of the south Spain, and it’s going to be imposible to wear any kind of coat in the next three months…;))

  2. oh my goodness, this is absolutely STUNNING. Like WOWZA stunning. Well done!!!

  3. This is such a stunning coat, Ana Sofia! I love your main fabric choice (so good that you gave it a go) and how the Liberty fabric of the lining makes it so recognizably ‘you’. Thank you so much for working your magic on the Moiano, and for participating in this tour. xo

Comments are closed.